SLI Drivers

geoffry

Sep 3, 2007
How well does NVDA support previous generation SLI setups in their driver releases?

For example, say I have a G80 GTS SLI setup, would there be decent scaling in future games such as STALKER:clear sky, far cry 2, the next crysis and whatever else is coming down the pipe?

Would they focus on the latest and greatest tech and only work on scaling for the GT-200 based cards and completely forget about the 8-series?

I've never had a 6 or 7 series SLI setup so I have no experience as to whether they continue support, perhaps some people here do?

Thanks in advance.

TC91

Golden Member
Jul 9, 2007
I will have to say that good future support with G80 SLI will likely be pretty bad. Remember when the 9 series came out, the 8 series' drivers were abandoned while the 9 series had a couple new sets of new drivers, until the latest 175.16WHQL came out recently which included the 8 series. Also the 7950gx2 issue with vista, when the 8 series was out then, that 7950gx2 card didnt have working SLI for quite a while (and its a dual card too so the SLI was needed to make full use of that card). If you really need extra performance, you might be able to sell off your current card, and buy a gtx 260 or something similar. Or if you can find a G80 GTS for cheap (~100 or less) then it might be worth a try.

quattro1

Jan 13, 2005
Any new SLI profiles that get added to drivers for new games and cards will also apply to previous SLI setups, including G80.

nRollo

Banned
Jan 11, 2002
Originally posted by: TC91