Setup for a storage server

rohan208

May 11, 2011
Hi,

I am very new at most of this, so mobo seems to most confusing aspect.

I have built a computer in past (6 years ago), and it turned out crappy . So I figure I will try to get some help in getting started with my research.

Background:
I was initially planning on buying a NAS ~$400-500 without the HDDs, and then add 4x @TB drives. But I figured, I might as well build a storage server instead. Might be the same cost, but would be lot more upgradeable.

The system I want should:
1. Be able to support multiple outgoing HD streams via network to my HTPC.
2. Possible stream to xbox/ps3
3. 4-8 Bays for HDDs (more the merrier) + 1 for blueray/cdburner
4. Few USB Ports to transfer stuff from portable usb drive
5. SD card reader

Questions I have:
1. What are the qualities I need to look for in a MOBO that would meet all the above?
2. Any good mobo's that would be good for me?
3. Are there any "guide" / "lessons learned" articles/threads I could read up to know more?
4. If I buy a case like CoolMaster CM 690 (8 bay), what will I need from my mobo in order to be able to add 4-6 HDDs to it?
5. What CPU would be good. I dont believe I need any of the new i3/7 etc..

Assumptions we can make (feel free to correct me)/Other Info:
1. I don't think I will need a powerful/latest processor.
2. Dont think I will need more than 2gb of RAM
3. I plan to run win7 on it. However, I am comfortable with any linux distribution, if it would serve my purpose better.
4. Both the HTPC and the storage server will be wired to the same linksys router.

Answers to sticky
1. Mainly used for Backing up my photos/videos and streaming video to multiple home devices.
2. Budget: ~300-400$ (minus the 4xHDD cost)
3. Building in US
4. No brand preference.

Thanks a lot for your time. Please feel free to point me to resources or any good lmgtfy link.

fffblackmage

Platinum Member
Dec 28, 2007