Sempron vs. athlon xp?

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by Kroze, Nov 10, 2005.

  1. Kroze

    Kroze Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    4,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    how does say the sempron 3000+ vs an athlon xp 2800?

    are they the same? which one is faster?


    i'm debating because i'm looking to build a new cheap system
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Sempron athlon Forum Date
    AMD launches the new Socket AM1 platform, new Athlon and Sempron APUs CPUs and Overclocking Apr 9, 2014
    Sempron LE-1300 vs Athlon 64 3500+ CPUs and Overclocking Dec 5, 2011
    Sempron Socket A Compatibility with old Athlon XP MB CPUs and Overclocking Jan 14, 2009
    Athlon XP 3200 vs Sempron 3400 (Socket 754), which one? CPUs and Overclocking Feb 7, 2007
    Question about 35 watt Athlon/Sempron 64? CPUs and Overclocking Nov 4, 2006

  3. Furen

    Furen Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    It depends. If both are socket A then the Athlon XP will be faster. If the Sempron is socket 754 then it will, most likely, be quite a bit faster.
     
  4. Kroze

    Kroze Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    4,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    both have 256k of l2 cache right? it seems like they're both equal to me right??
     
  5. formulav8

    formulav8 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2000
    Messages:
    6,233
    Likes Received:
    61
    If the Sempron is Socket 'A' then it is clocked at 2ghz and has the Barton core which ='s 512KB L2 Cache.

    The XP is a Barton also at the same 2.08ghz speeds. They both run on the same 333mhz fsb too. Performance would be the same it seems.

    But, if the Sempron is s754 Based, which = 1.8ghz, then the s754 3000+ would definitely be faster than the XP. Otherwise, they are equals.



    Jason
     
  6. DarkKnight69

    DarkKnight69 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    sempron has integrated mem controller, it will be faster on both platforms.
     
  7. DAPUNISHER

    DAPUNISHER Super Moderator<br>Elite Member
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    20,377
    Likes Received:
    80
    sktA sempr0n dosen't have a IMC.
     
  8. Kroze

    Kroze Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    4,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm just need to replace my old pc (athlon xp 1500 on sdram.)

    will like a sempron 3100+ and a decent graphic card suit me just fine? i'm looking to play far cry (my pc currently run it but it's at the lowest setting).


     
  9. Powermoloch

    Powermoloch Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well.......

    I have a sempron 3100+ "paris" @ 2.069 Ghz. it's a great OCer
    w/ x850xtagp (before it was 6600)

    happy since

    scored 6100+ on 3dmark05 12,000 3dmark03 etc
     
  10. phaxmohdem

    phaxmohdem Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,839
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yes that should suit you fine. A more powerfull graphics card will get you futher than dumping moey into a hella fast CPU. What Kind of budget are you working with though? Tons of people around here love to suggest setups (myself included) if we know what budget you have.
     
  11. AkumaX

    AkumaX Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Messages:
    12,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    I would like to shoot AMD for their damn PR rating scheme:

    1MB vs 512kb vs 256kb vs 128kb L2

    All Socket 754

    Sempron 3400+ - 1.8ghz 256kb L2 E6
    Sempron 3300+ - 1.8ghz 128kb L2 E6
    Sempron 3300+ - 2.0ghz 128kb L2
    Sempron 3100+ - 1.8ghz 256kb L2
    Sempron 3000+ - 1.8ghz 128kb L2
    Sempron 2800+ - 1.6ghz 256kb L2
    Sempron 2600+ - 1.6ghz 128kb L2
    Sempron 2500+ - 1.6ghz 256kb L2 E6
    Sempron 2500+ - 1.4ghz 128kb L2

    and SSE3 is thrown all over in there
    so is having Paris or Palermo

    don't even get me start w/ Socket 939...
     
  12. Kroze

    Kroze Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    4,052
    Likes Received:
    0

    well this pc i'm using now was built a couple of years ago and i'm looking to upgrade just a bit to stay somewhat current. Being able to play far cry @800x600 would be awesome for me.

    my current setup:

    iwill kk266-raid. KT133a chipset
    athlon xp 1500+
    768mb SDram
    2 (40gb) 7200rpm ide hd
    CD-RW
    400watt PS.
    19" Samsung crt Monitor.
    Nvidia Geforce 4200 Ti 64mb.


    My budget....as much as i can get... i guess.

    i will be reusing the monitor & hard drives so i can save some money.

    what should i get?

    a socket A mobo & another athlon XP to overclock?
    a socket 754 mobo & a sempron?
    -----------------------------------------
    looking to spend less than $100 for mobo & cpu

    A decent video card, some ram, and a power supply and that's it i guess....or could i reuse my 400watt? that would save some money there too.


    so i would say around $250-300?
     
  13. Aenslead

    Aenslead Golden Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah! Socket 754 motherboard and Sempron would be much better! Also, prices are very affordable. Get the lowest Sempron (2600+, I think) and a decen mid- level motherboard, Like the ABIT KV8 Pro (which I own, has gigabit lan, 7.1 sound, blah blah) and overclocks great!
     
  14. AkumaX

    AkumaX Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Messages:
    12,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    if you're gonna start from scratch, definitely get a socket 754
     
  15. Aenslead

    Aenslead Golden Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone seen Skt939 Semprons on sale yet?
     
  16. AkumaX

    AkumaX Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Messages:
    12,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    iono.. ebay?
     
  17. Powermoloch

    Powermoloch Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, 250-300 will be a good budget, go for the 300 man....

    Here are the parts that I would recommend to grab under 300 range:

    BIOSTAR NF325-A7 Socket 754 NVIDIA nForce3 250 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail $49.00 (great mobo, i'm using it :). I OC the cpu and ram at 1:1 ratio, 230 mhz fsb. Pretty sweet )

    CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Dual Channel Kit System Memory - Retail $79.90

    AMD Sempron 64 2800+ 800MHz FSB Socket 754 Processor - Retail $75.50

    total : 204.40 w/ out shipping

    Then you can spend the rest on a new vid card you like (9800 pro? 9600XT? used 6600 ?)

    anyways good luck !
     
  18. Philippine Mango

    Philippine Mango Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Couldn't he just get a used 9800 pro or 6600gt FIRST and see if that satisfies his needs or not? I think he should upgrade the video card first and if thats enough, then good for him. OP, I'd consider overclocking the system as much as you can and report back (if your willing to do this) on whether or not it improved performance significantly or not. Because to be perfectly honest, I have a feeling your video card is the bottleneck more than anything else.

    Overclocking your CPU+a 9800Pro or 6600GT would provide a nice improvement and you'll likely be able to play farcry at 1024X768 easily. I play farcry at 1024X768 with a 9600Pro (in laptop) and runs great.

    Things if I were YOU I'd do in the following order:
    1. Overclock the CPU and Video card you've currently got, does that improve performance enough to make it playable now? Was overclocking the CPU what you needed for 800X600 or 1024X768? Or perhaps it was the video card (doubt though overclocking the video card would be that significant).
    2. Get a new video card, was the 9800pro/6600GT what you needed to get decent resolutions/frame rates? Was the new video card+an overclocked CPU what you needed? Because a P4 2.0A with 133 ram and above (includes athlon XPs) won't be heavily CPU bottlenecked with a 6800GT which is a fast card.
    3. If none of the things above helped with your lack of performance, do what some people have mentioned, get a 754 board and outfit it with a sempron, it will be a cheap effective upgrade.

    I say to do it in the following order because that order will save you the most money. Overclocking may be what you need to achieve 800X600 or 1024X768, or maybe it was a simple video card upgrade was what you needed. Good luck!
     
  19. Powermoloch

    Powermoloch Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    a system upgrade as a whole is better. he could save another few bucsk to grab a 9800 pro or 6600 GT.
     
  20. Zap

    Zap Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    22,378
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you're going to be getting CPU, mobo and video, get socket 754 and PCIe.

    "looking to spend less than $100 for mobo & cpu "

    Fry's Electronics often have socket 754 Sempron deals with motherboard for under $100, but those are all AGP boards. If you're going to get a video card also, I'd highly recommend going with a PCIe video card. Decent socket 754 boards with PCIe start at about $60. You'll also definately need new RAM. You might be able to get by with one of the new Geforce 6100 chipset motherboards because the onboard video is similar to the Geforce 6200 video card (which is a Geforce 6600GT, with slower core and RAM, and with half pipes disabled). You can re-use your drives, monitor and case. Your PSU... depends on if it has the ATX 12v plug and how good quality it is.

    Geforce 6100 chipset motherboard $60 and up
    1GB RAM $90 and up (if you go socket 754 get one 1GB module, if you go socket 939 get two 512MB)
    Sempron 2800 OEM $60 (Microcenter, add few $$$ for HSF)