Question SAS/SATA drives that work with Windows 11

boondocks

Mar 24, 2011
Looking for a cheap used/refurb/whatever SAS drive for my ever growing number of SATA HDD's/SSD's. Must work in Windows 11!

I bought a LSI SAS9300 16i (dual 3008 controllers) and it worked fine in my Win 10 machine but my Win 11 machine HATES it and I can find no way to use it, so I'm looking for an 8i board for my ASUS Z590 mobo.

Any recommendations? I need something pretty much plug and play, don't want to be flashing BIOS etc. if possible as I'm new to SAS boards.

Thanks all!!

Micrornd

Golden Member
Mar 2, 2013
I can't help with an Asus board specifically, but I have a Gigabyte Aorus Z590 Master board running a LSI 9271-8i and Lenovo 16port SAS/SATA Expander Card with a 16 disk SATA R6 array.
Even though the 9271 is a PCIe 3.0 card and the slot the 9271 is installed in is set as PCIe 4.0 and it works without any problems.
I'm using LSI drivers dated 10/22/2018 with Windows 11 22H2 22621.1486
And it almost maxes out (a shade over 9.2) a 10GbE connection when transferring files.
Does that help any ?

(edited to reflect speeds from spinners and not ramdrive)

Last edited:
Reactions: boondocks

aigomorla

CPU, Cases&Cooling Mod PC Gaming Mod Elite Member
Super Moderator
Sep 28, 2005
wait... the LSI SAS9300 what problems does windows 11 exactly have?
Your talking about this guy:

This is not a real dedicated Raid card per say, its a HBA... Host Bus Adapter.
They are sort of the same, but the offload and control work is done on the CPU rather the Card itself on a HBA.

Now that you know its different, can you find out whats not working on windows 11?

If your HBA is not working, then it has to do with your platform... ie.. board + cpu... possibly your trying to plug in the card on a 16x slot that only has wire traces for 4x.

HBA's and most controllers reqiure a full dedicated 8x pci-e slot.