Salary/Career questions from a somewhat recent grad

aolsuxs

Dec 6, 2000
I graduated about 2 years ago with a BS in Biology and currently feel I am incredibly underpaid in my position. Thus, I am considering asking for a raise in my yearly review coming up in a few months or perhaps relocating (Probably somewhere in Ca where there a lot more opportunities then in NV). While I've found several sites that compare cost of living, I am curious is it possible to find out either the pay range for specific positions/companies instead finding out via the whole interview process. I mean, I can't just email HR and ask for XX position what is the expected pay? I think that if I can obtain that I can have a decent shot of at least justifying my case for a raise.

Thanks for listening..

BigDH01

Golden Member
Jul 8, 2005
Originally posted by: aolsuxs
I graduated about 2 years ago with a BS in Biology and currently feel I am incredibly underpaid in my position. Thus, I am considering asking for a raise in my yearly review coming up in a few months or perhaps relocating (Probably somewhere in Ca where there a lot more opportunities then in NV). While I've found several sites that compare cost of living, I am curious is it possible to find out either the pay range for specific positions/companies instead finding out via the whole interview process. I mean, I can't just email HR and ask for XX position what is the expected pay? I think that if I can obtain that I can have a decent shot of at least justifying my case for a raise.

Thanks for listening..

Biology is a tough one. I was looking for positions in Cali when I graduated with a degree in Micro and was disappointed with what I found. It also seems that the Cali market I was looking at was dominated by scientific temp agencies (at least for lab work). I believe the range I was looking at to start was about 12-15/hr. Not much for Cali. After 2 years, I would imagine it's 15-20/hr.