Safe to use "Disk Cleanup" on an SSD?

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by jthoov, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. jthoov

    jthoov Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey there;

    I read the sticky SSD thread but I didn't see it mention anything about using the Microsoft Disk Clean Up function.

    Is it safe to use it on an SSD?

    My Windows is installed on it and I know that sometimes when I update the windows, it creates System Restore points which eat up a lot of space.

    Will it be safe to delete them using Disk Clean up for my SSD??

    Thank you~
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Safe Disk Cleanup Forum Date
    Is it safe to mix new and used SSDs to make a RAID 1? Memory and Storage Oct 25, 2016
    How to safely move primary SSD to secondary SSD? Memory and Storage Jun 29, 2016
    Backup just to have another safe copy of files Memory and Storage Jun 24, 2016
    RAM clocked @2666Mhz but BIOS sets it @2133Mhz - safe to set manually? Memory and Storage Mar 12, 2016
    Is Safely Remove Hardware and Eject Media for usb disks overrated? Memory and Storage Aug 7, 2014

  3. razel

    razel Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,843
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes and if you don't use system restore often, turn that off too, especially if you own an Intel SSD, they recommend it be off for their SSDs.

    However that doesn't mean that you should never use it. I turn on and use system restore to test new drivers and trial software, then after I'm done, clean it all up and turn it back off.
     
  4. wpcoe

    wpcoe Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    I personally have found System Restore to occasionally save my @ss when something gets messed up -- and am too lazy to keep turning it on and off -- so I set it to use 3% of my SSD (about 1.79GB). It seems to be an acceptable compromise. By default, Windows sets a much larger % of disk space, but then you just end up with lots of old restore points.
     
  5. capeconsultant

    capeconsultant Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    0
    I back up. Never use system restore. tried a few times and it did not work, so I figured I would save the CPU cycles for something else :)
     
  6. FishAk

    FishAk Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like system Restore, and it has worked great for me. The trouble is that the system makes it's own restore points, and I have no way of removing points I don't want/need, and keeping only the ones I want. I have found that it's much more reliable to use a set of images for my restore points, per se. The images take more room than a Windows Restore point, but I store them on HDDs, and have complete control over which get deleted, and which ones I keep.