Ryzen Pro featuring Ryzen 3 1300 and 1200

nathanddrews

Graphics Cards, CPU Moderator
Super Moderator
Aug 9, 2016
965
0
106
www.youtube.com
#1

kawi6rr

Senior member
Oct 17, 2013
536
25
116
#2
Would these be better binned chips?
 

Topweasel

Diamond Member
Oct 19, 2000
4,768
363
136
#5
That's my personal guess, that they waited until the B2 stepping was available before releasing the "Pro" SKUs.
Or they were close enough to being able to offer the R3 and they wanted to launch Pro with a full product stack. Pro probably gets R3 priority.
 
May 7, 2002
10,378
1
126
#6
I find it odd they are releasing these now, yet they don't have Vega in them.

Seriously, all businesses I know do NOT want GPU cards, they want the CPU to have the GPU in it.

Then, when they finally do integrate Vega into the die, what will these be called then? Ryzen Pro Plus?
 

SpaceBeer

Senior member
Apr 2, 2016
291
7
71
#7
Ryzen A3 ? :)

Ryzen 5 and 7 will probably go to workstations with Quadro/Radeon Pro, so it's not a problem. Ryzen 3? I don't know. But there are/were also some entry level workstations with i3, so why not put Ryzen 3. Plus, OEMs tend to put dGPU alongside A x /core ix CPUs even if it's worse than IGP (GT 710, R5 430...). They could save on MB (no need for video outputs, at least not more than one) and add $30 dGPU.

But for SFF, yes Raven Ridge (Pro) is what is needed
 

Jan Olšan

Senior member
Jan 12, 2017
261
6
86
#8
Chips with IGP will have special suffixes - for example G (there are more for lower TDP versions). It was in the Ryzen 7 launch slides.
 

Ratman6161

Senior member
Mar 21, 2008
607
0
91
#9
Ryzen A3 ? :)

Ryzen 5 and 7 will probably go to workstations with Quadro/Radeon Pro, so it's not a problem. Ryzen 3? I don't know. But there are/were also some entry level workstations with i3, so why not put Ryzen 3. Plus, OEMs tend to put dGPU alongside A x /core ix CPUs even if it's worse than IGP (GT 710, R5 430...). They could save on MB (no need for video outputs, at least not more than one) and add $30 dGPU.

But for SFF, yes Raven Ridge (Pro) is what is needed
Actually we just bought 90 new PCS at work and we wouldn't have considered anything that didn't have integrated graphics. We got some i5 and some i7 but our users just don't have any need for anything better than Intel's IGPU. Essentially any extra spent on graphics would be a complete waste for our usage
 
Jul 1, 2001
20,947
117
126
#10
Well... I guess that we know the real reason AMD wasn't officially supporting ECC memory on the Ryzen processor. They wanted a few more bucks for the "Pro" CPU's.
 

zuzu

Junior Member
Jul 1, 2017
20
0
6
#11
this are best what amd can think ,due intel flop sec parts
amd bring in hw sec parts ,for banking corps etc
this just look great
b2 i dont think so .. dell advertised this in like 2 month now
so it's custom core pushed to masses
 
Feb 14, 2017
84
0
61
#12
I'm going to guess B2 stepping, ECC support, better binning, longer warranty, and higher prices.

I'm betting I'll be right on at least two of those!
 

Jan Olšan

Senior member
Jan 12, 2017
261
6
86
#13
I found the slide with the naming scheme.

Desktop APUs should look like Ryzen 5 1400G or Ryzen 1400S. The numbers could be different but the letters at the end tell you if it has iGPU. Well if they stick to this plan.


 
Oct 10, 1999
65,250
320
126
#14
Seems a rather Niche Product, but if you think about it the regular Ryzen is also a Niche Product these days. Time will tell if it's a niche worth pursuing, either way AMD doesn't lose much by offering it and could potentially gain Sales if it is something part of the Market wants.
 

Similar threads



ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS