• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

Discussion Ryzen 3000 series benchmark thread ** Open **

Page 16 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Feb 4, 2009
22,723
4,453
126
I think HardwareUnboxed said in their 3600 review, that they had to pay for it with their Patreon money, that AMD might sample them a 3600 later on. AMD's review kit apparently included a 3700X and a 3900X, and a couple of specific X570 mobos. (Loaned?)
Yeah the couple things I read were reviewers all received a 3700x & a 3900x plus X570 motherboard(s).
 

Shivansps

Platinum Member
Sep 11, 2013
2,600
502
126
The 3200G and 3400G are being discrimited due to be Zen+ but they are also considerable upgrades... memory latency on 3200G is a little bit lower than the 2200G 76ns vs 72ns for DDR4-3200 16-18-18-32.

And the IGP overclocks like crazy.


Im not going to try to push it any harder, the GPU VRMs are on fire and i dont know how much voltage the motherboard is actually giving to the IGP. But on the 2200G was never able to go past 1500mhz on any acceptable voltage.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lightmanek

DarthKyrie

Golden Member
Jul 11, 2016
1,158
775
116
Actually all 3 have successful careers and they will pay, Ill hold the grandchildren as hostage /lol
I don't think your kids would mind the peace and quiet if you did, so technically it wouldn't be hostage-taking.

Can I pair the 3900X with a 4xx series motherboard?
I don't really need PCIE 4 and I dislike the sound of "active cooling" for the motherboard... what is that exactly anyway?
All 3000 series Ryzens will work in any AM4 motherboard, you just need an x570 to take full advantage of Ryzen 3000 features.
 

DarthKyrie

Golden Member
Jul 11, 2016
1,158
775
116
The 3200G and 3400G are being discrimited due to be Zen+ but they are also considerable upgrades... memory latency on 3200G is a little bit lower than the 2200G 76ns vs 72ns for DDR4-3200 16-18-18-32.

And the IGP overclocks like crazy.


Im not going to try to push it any harder, the GPU VRMs are on fire and i dont know how much voltage the motherboard is actually giving to the IGP. But on the 2200G was never able to go past 1500mhz on any acceptable voltage.
Makes sense since the 3400G and 3200G are based off the die shrunk Raven Ridge die with a few tweaks to the $ subsystem.
 

VirtualLarry

Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
45,459
4,030
126
All 3000 series Ryzens will work in any AM4 motherboard, you just need an x570 to take full advantage of Ryzen 3000 features.
I'm not so sure that you "need" an X570, either. My Gigabyte B450 AORUS PRO WIFI ATX board, with BIOS F40, and a 3600, supports PCI-E 4.0 and PBO.

Yeah, if you're eyeballing an 3900X or 3950X, sure, X570 makes a lot of sense. But for the lower CPUs, like 3600 / 3600X / 3700X, those existing / older B450 / X470 boards pack a punch, and much better idle power efficiency with the older chipsets.
 
Feb 4, 2009
22,723
4,453
126
I don't think your kids would mind the peace and quiet if you did, so technically it wouldn't be hostage-taking.



All 3000 series Ryzens will work in any AM4 motherboard, you just need an x570 to take full advantage of Ryzen 3000 features.
But....but....but.....
What about the a320?

I want to put a $500 cpu in a $60 motherboard AMD said I could.




#sarcasm dumb dumbs
 

DarthKyrie

Golden Member
Jul 11, 2016
1,158
775
116
I'm not so sure that you "need" an X570, either. My Gigabyte B450 AORUS PRO WIFI ATX board, with BIOS F40, and a 3600, supports PCI-E 4.0 and PBO.

Yeah, if you're eyeballing an 3900X or 3950X, sure, X570 makes a lot of sense. But for the lower CPUs, like 3600 / 3600X / 3700X, those existing / older B450 / X470 boards pack a punch, and much better idle power efficiency with the older chipsets.
I was talking about NVME RAID and the extra bandwidth of having the PCIe 4.0 4x link to the chipset. There are also some E-ATX MB for sale that allows. for 8/8/8 PCIe 4.0 video cards
 
Feb 4, 2009
22,723
4,453
126
I thought someone posted a video on here of a guy that actually did it and it worked.
I saw one where it kind of worked, the machine would power cycle 3-5 times then boot. They didn’t test anything else.
I guess it’s feasible.
I’m just poking fun at some of our earlier posters.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DarthKyrie

mopardude87

Senior member
Oct 22, 2018
577
142
76
Bingo. X570 is also rough on power consumption! Outside of edge cases, most people are better off with B450/X470. Cheaper, cooler, more readily available, longer proven durability, no chipset fan that is already an issue for many GPUs, etc.
I know i have seen people going off about the fan but is it really causing real complications with gpus? I assume its clearance issues? If not which ones. I thought it was merely the noise which some may be blowing out of proportion.
 

Arkaign

Lifer
Oct 27, 2006
19,863
373
126
I know i have seen people going off about the fan but is it really causing real complications with gpus? I assume its clearance issues? If not which ones. I thought it was merely the noise which some may be blowing out of proportion.
Yep, it's some of the thicker larger GPUs covering the fan extremely tightly. I'm on mobile at the moment, but will shoot a video link when I get the chance.
 

mopardude87

Senior member
Oct 22, 2018
577
142
76
Yep, it's some of the thicker larger GPUs covering the fan extremely tightly. I'm on mobile at the moment, but will shoot a video link when I get the chance.
Sounds like a MSI over sight. I had a P35 platinum years and i couldn't install a 8800gts 512mb which was a dual slot card cause of the height of the south bridge heatsink. Had to hack off a bit of the corner just to sit the thing. The motherboard only came out after the world famous 8800gtx so someone goofed up over there at quality control. My 8800gts was very standard.

Buy me a beer if i am right about MSI doing this?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Arkaign

killster1

Diamond Member
Mar 15, 2007
4,476
99
91
I'm not so sure that you "need" an X570, either. My Gigabyte B450 AORUS PRO WIFI ATX board, with BIOS F40, and a 3600, supports PCI-E 4.0 and PBO.

Yeah, if you're eyeballing an 3900X or 3950X, sure, X570 makes a lot of sense. But for the lower CPUs, like 3600 / 3600X / 3700X, those existing / older B450 / X470 boards pack a punch, and much better idle power efficiency with the older chipsets.
you bought a 3600 to upgrade one of your boxes? congrats exciting. im waiting for the 3700x / 3800x to be in stock somewhere, i guess the 3600 was easy to get? :) i just want lower temps / electricity usage then my 2700x the faster speeds will just be icing.
 

JDG1980

Golden Member
Jul 18, 2013
1,660
557
136
But....but....but.....
What about the a320?

I want to put a $500 cpu in a $60 motherboard AMD said I could.
TPU actually tested a 3900X on an older $70 motherboard (though it was B350, not A320). No crashes or other major issues. There was some performance throttling on a handful of heavily threaded workloads when using watercooling because the VRMs got really hot due to lack of airflow. With aircooling, the VRMs got enough airflow to make the performance difference negligible.
 

VirtualLarry

Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
45,459
4,030
126
you bought a 3600 to upgrade one of your boxes? congrats exciting. im waiting for the 3700x / 3800x to be in stock somewhere, i guess the 3600 was easy to get? :) i just want lower temps / electricity usage then my 2700x the faster speeds will just be icing.
It was kind of a spur-of-the-moment decision. I was reading about the new 3rd-Gen Ryzen CPUs, saw the 3600 in stock for "only" $199.99 FS, and I was like, SURE, let's do it! I do think that the 3600 is probably a lot easier to get a hold of (compared to say, the 3900X).

As far as temps go, well, that's another story altogether. Mine runs at 95C. With a 95W TDP copper-cored stock R5 1600 cooler, not the 65W all-Aluminum cooler that comes with it.

My case cooling may be lacking. I'm running 2x RX 570 8GB cards full-tilt too, just below it, and I have the case sides off.
 

killster1

Diamond Member
Mar 15, 2007
4,476
99
91
It was kind of a spur-of-the-moment decision. I was reading about the new 3rd-Gen Ryzen CPUs, saw the 3600 in stock for "only" $199.99 FS, and I was like, SURE, let's do it! I do think that the 3600 is probably a lot easier to get a hold of (compared to say, the 3900X).

As far as temps go, well, that's another story altogether. Mine runs at 95C. With a 95W TDP copper-cored stock R5 1600 cooler, not the 65W all-Aluminum cooler that comes with it.

My case cooling may be lacking. I'm running 2x RX 570 8GB cards full-tilt too, just below it, and I have the case sides off.
holy $(*%& 95C load i assume? im sure its the gfx cards cooking it ;) top exhaust x5 120mm be nice. I cant view amazon but i hear they had some 3800x and 3900x in stock today. wow might be installing one sooner than i thought.
 

VirtualLarry

Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
45,459
4,030
126
holy $(*%& 95C load i assume? im sure its the gfx cards cooking it ;) top exhaust x5 120mm be nice. I cant view amazon but i hear they had some 3800x and 3900x in stock today. wow might be installing one sooner than i thought.
Yeah, I'm using Rosewill Magnetar ATX cases. Which are extremely friendly to build in... but they have ZERO top venting. No mesh, no 120/140mm fan mounts, no AIO cooler mounts, NO HOLES NOTHING (but solid metal).

Was thinking of getting a friend with sheet-metal experience to cut a blow-hole. Just like the custom PCs in the 90s/2000s. :p

Or I could just get a few more Rosewill Stryker M cases, those have 240/280mm mounts on top, with magnetic dust filter.

I used one of those to build my R7 2700 rig, put the 240mm CoolerMaster MasterLiquid Lite 240 on top there. Was a really tight squeeze with my Asus ROG STRIX B450-F ATX board, I could only put in a few mobo mounting screws, because it was a mm or two off in clearance, and wouldn't fit quite square. :(:(:( (*I dislike jerry-rigging a build, but this was a personal build, so I said "screw it" and went with it. Not something that I'm proud of, though, but given the components, I really should have dremeled into the "pre-fab ATX I/O shield bracket cover".)
 

killster1

Diamond Member
Mar 15, 2007
4,476
99
91
Yeah, I'm using Rosewill Magnetar ATX cases. Which are extremely friendly to build in... but they have ZERO top venting. No mesh, no 120/140mm fan mounts, no AIO cooler mounts, NO HOLES NOTHING (but solid metal).

Was thinking of getting a friend with sheet-metal experience to cut a blow-hole. Just like the custom PCs in the 90s/2000s. :p

Or I could just get a few more Rosewill Stryker M cases, those have 240/280mm mounts on top, with magnetic dust filter.

I used one of those to build my R7 2700 rig, put the 240mm CoolerMaster MasterLiquid Lite 240 on top there. Was a really tight squeeze with my Asus ROG STRIX B450-F ATX board, I could only put in a few mobo mounting screws, because it was a mm or two off in clearance, and wouldn't fit quite square. :(:(:( (*I dislike jerry-rigging a build, but this was a personal build, so I said "screw it" and went with it. Not something that I'm proud of, though, but given the components, I really should have dremeled into the "pre-fab ATX I/O shield bracket cover".)
i feel like even with the stock cooler in the case it should not hit 95c. You have tried the stock cooler also? a 20" fan to the side of case on number 1? :)
 

bfun_x1

Senior member
May 29, 2015
449
145
116
Are there any reviews that compare the 3600 to the 3600X? I curious to know if the 3600X has more OC headroom.
 

UsandThem

Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 4, 2000
11,459
1,970
136
Are there any reviews that compare the 3600 to the 3600X? I curious to know if the 3600X has more OC headroom.
Not that I've seen.

Reviews for the 3600X and 3800X are still MIA.

I imagine they will soon start popping up as users / reviewers get their orders in (along with the base 3600, AMD didn't send those two CPUs out to reviewers).
 

guachi

Senior member
Nov 16, 2010
685
334
136
The only 3600X review I've seen is on the Tech Deals channel.

He was very impressed by the chip.
 

DarthKyrie

Golden Member
Jul 11, 2016
1,158
775
116
Are there any reviews that compare the 3600 to the 3600X? I curious to know if the 3600X has more OC headroom.
There is no difference other than 30W of power, a copper core heatsink Wraith Spire cooler, and a guaranteed 200 MHz boost in both base and turbo clocks, overall not bad for $50.
 

PotatoWithEarsOnSide

Senior member
Feb 23, 2017
664
688
106
Ryzen cores appear never to be operating at base clocks anyway. They are either at their limits or in a sleep state.

@VirtualLarry have you tried a voltage offset? I've read about a few people that were experiencing high idle and load temperatures, and the problem went away with a voltage offset.
 

therealmongo

Member
Jul 5, 2019
26
9
41
There is no difference other than 30W of power, a copper core heatsink Wraith Spire cooler, and a guaranteed 200 MHz boost in both base and turbo clocks, overall not bad for $50.
Are you sure about this,

The 30W difference also means that PPT/TDC and EDC are effected, which means overclocking headroom with regards to power draw will also be different.

Package Power Tracking (PPT): The power threshold that is allowed to be delivered to the socket.
This is 88W for 65W TDP processors, and 142W for 105W TDP processors.

Thermal Design Current (TDC): The maximum amount of current delivered by the motherboard’s voltage regulators when under thermally constrained scenarios (high temperatures)
This is 60A for 65W TDP processors, and 95A for 105W TDP processors.

Electrical Design Current (EDC): This is the maximum amount of current at any instantaneous short period of time that can be delivered by the motherboard’s voltage regulators.
This is 90A for 65W TDP processors, and 140A for 105W TDP processors.
Surely this will effect the max overclock possible, unless the lower watt CPUs can have their PPT/TDC/EDC limits increased.

This is my predicament, buy a 3600 or the X version, waiting to see if the X have more frequency headroom based on the higher PPT/TDC/EDC limits...
 
Last edited:

PotatoWithEarsOnSide

Senior member
Feb 23, 2017
664
688
106
Are you sure about this,

The 30W difference also means that PPT/TDC and EDC are effected, which means overclocking headroom with regards to power draw will also be different.



Surely this will effect the max overclock possible, unless the lower watt CPUs can have their PPT/TDC/EDC limits increased.

This is my predicament, buy a 3600 or the X version, waiting to see if the X have more frequency headroom based on the higher PPT/TDC/EDC limits...
Overclocking overrides those limits.
The limits are there in relation to stock operation; XFR2 and PB2.
The 3600X will certainly outperform the 3600 at stock, just like the 3800X will outperform the 3700X at stock.
If you are manually overclocking, or using PBO, then there should functionally be no difference between either CPU with identical core counts*.

*Caveat: 3600X has XFR2 whereas 3600 does not, so perhaps there's a tangible benefit to going 3600X, but this will require more testing...and would not be relevant with a manual overclock anyway.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY