Running CHKDSK on Software RAID 0

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by Aarrggimapirate, Oct 7, 2008.

  1. Aarrggimapirate

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 2 HDDs in a RAID 0 software array using nf4's nvraid (2 x 300 MAXTOR SATA). Recently my computer froze and I rebooted it to find out that windows lagged out on the boot screen until chkdsk came up.

    Chkdsk froze on phase 1, 4% in (stayed on 4% for 2 hours). I have been searching around the internet and found some articles to suggest that CHKDSK'ng a RAID array may screw it up because of how striping works.

    Here is a case of a RAID 5 hardware array and CHKDSK:
    http://ask.metafilter.com/65106/Did-chkdsk-eat-my-files

    This place says dont do it:
    http://www.quetek.com/RAID_mistakes.htm


    I have booted it up to Windows Recovery Console and gotten access to the files, and everything appears to be good. Im using the nvraid drivers in the Windows Recovery Console to read the drive. Should I go ahead and run a chkdsk? Or should I do a reinstall of XP?

    I understand that RAID 0 is a risky setup, and I understand I could lose all my files. I just really like this install of windows and the files are worth enough to me to try to fix this problem.


    Any help or input would be appreciated!
     
  2. Rubycon

    Rubycon Madame President

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    17,287
    Likes Received:
    125
    I run a CHKDSK on mine all the time with 10 15K disks in RAID0.

    Text
     
  3. Aarrggimapirate

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    ROFL. Love the music.

    It seems possible that if I ran chkdsk on a RAID and found a bad "sector" and it tried to repair it that it could be messing with striped data. Like shuffling cards.

    Ill try running chkdsk though.
     
  4. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    If that happens then your array isn't working properly anyway.

    That is retarded. Sure, chkdsk isn't the smartest tool in the shed but it doesn't need to understand RAID. The RAID portion is taken care of by the driver and controller doing the RAID, the NTFS filesystem on the array looks the same to chkdsk no matter what the underlying storage looks like.
     
  5. RebateMonger

    RebateMonger Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    11,592
    Likes Received:
    0
    That second quoted article is saying to not run Chkdsk ON AN INDIVIDUAL DRIVE. That WILL mess things up good. You run Chckdsk on the entire array.

    On the other hand, Chkdsk CAN eat files and directories. It does whatever is necessary to "fix" the logical structure of the array. I've seen a case where a power glitch apparently damaged a drive plus the RAID 5 error correction system, and Chkdsk made many files and directories disappear. This was on an expensive EMC array.
     
  6. Aarrggimapirate

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I try running just normal chkdsk it just stays at 1% forever (I left it on overnight). Thats just regular chkdsk in windows recovery console with the RAID drivers loaded. I did not hear much hard drive activity either.

    The RAID is detected as being healthy. Should I run the maxtor diagnostics for the drive, or would that mess up the raid stripes? Or just reinstall windows and try to backup all the files I can?
     
  7. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    That would be pretty stupid if you could even get it to work. The MFT would be striped too so chances are the drives would show up as RAW and chkdsk would refuse to run.

    Most manfacturer diag tools just run SMART tests which are non-destructive.
     
Loading...