Ricoh CD burners... any good?

Duncan

Oct 12, 1999
I've just found a couple of *fabulous* deals on Ricoh CD burners. There's a model 7063A (6x4x32) going for $169, and a 7083A (8x8x32) for $199 - that's in Canadian dollars too. So, I've now got no excuse NOT to get a burner...

Except, I've heard some very bad things about the Ricoh 7060As (6x4x24). Namely, that they start choking about a month after purchase, and need to be disassembled and lubed - which I am NOT comfortable with. :) I know the 7063A is a revision of the earlier model, but does it fix this problem? I've also seen superlative reviews of Ricoh's latest models - would I be safer going for the more recent 7083A? Granted, it's only $30... but I'm a starving university student, and that $30 will buy an initial supply of CD-Rs.

Advice? Mocking comments? Anyone got a burner they want to give away? =)

Duncan

Oct 12, 1999
I've just learned that the Ricoh burners do no support CloneCD, and generally suck at copying protected media... is this a huge problem? How prevalent are CDs with copy protection?

Also, there's a Mitsumi CR4804TE (4x4x24) available. This one is $10 cheaper, and does support CloneCD. However, it's a fair bit slower, and I have no idea about what sort of quality it is. The Ricoh drives are renowned for giving great sound quality, both in DAE and in burning. Is Mitsumi comparable? I have an extremely discerning ear, so even minute issues would bother me.

HELP ME!

Thanks in advance... :)

IamDavid

Diamond Member
Sep 13, 2000
If your going to spend up to $200 buy a Yamaha or HP. Ya might even be able to find a Plextor.

GT578

Feb 7, 2000