Reset a blade or a virtual server on a blade?

tmdpc

Jul 4, 2013
Hi folks - I need help.

I'm a second year IT student who took a job as a support tech, mostly outfitting new machines for deployment, end-user support, printer help etc. A couple weeks ago, my (former) boss and the only other person in the dept got mad and walked away from the job on very short notice. In spite of the fact that we have 70+ employees, 12 deprtments, 8 vlans and point-to-point wireless at 4 satellite locations, the big bosses have put together a committee to determine what qualifications the new IT manger should have and expect to advertise the job opening in 2 -4 weeks... I was given some passwords and some vendor contacts but I'm in way over my head. We have about 10 physical and 15 logical servers, the virtual servers live on a pair of IBM blades run via EXSI/VMware/VCenter.

I don't know how to tell what other partitions are on the blade and I have at least 10 people experiencing down time right now. I guess I did get lucky in the fact that it died about 1 pm on July 3rd - People were literally thanking me as they left early on the day before the holiday...

I'm stuck. I don't know if the entire blade needs to be restarted because I'm not exactly sure what lives on that blade. Because I'm not sure what lives on that blade, I'm completely freaked out about restarting it - Well that and the fact that I'm unsure as to how exactly how to restart a blade.

I've got Veeam backups of everything so at worst we should only lose a day or two of data, but I have no idea where to begin.

I can't ping the main server or the VCenter. Both blades are showing green lights and no indication of trouble.

I think we have support contracts with IBM and VMware but I'm not entirely sure.

Any assistance you can provide would be very,very much appreciated. Even if you can recommend a more appropriate forum or site.

Thanks everyone.

Red Squirrel

No Lifer
May 24, 2003
www.anyf.ca