Replacing power supply in old dell

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by iamloco724, Feb 19, 2013.

  1. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    im looking to get a new power supply for my dell e510 desktop

    its a good old desktop that i like to keep around only has one problem and thats the bootup amberlight issue that alot of these dells have

    for the most part people fix it with a new power supply so im going to try that first

    these are my specs

    Intel Pentium 4 630 Prescott 90nm Technology

    4.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR2

    256MB ATI Radeon X300/X550/X1050 Series (ATI)

    2 internal drive 1tb and 500gb

    im looking at these as of now

    PC Power and Cooling Silencer Mk III Series 400W

    CORSAIR CX430M 430W

    SeaSonic SSR-450RM 450W

    CORSAIR CX500M 500W

    SeaSonic M12II 520

    CORSAIR CX600M 600W

    so out of those what would you choose or would you recommend something else..i prefer modular
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Replacing power supply Forum Date
    Power supply Fan replacements Power Supplies May 10, 2017
    Picking a replacement PSU with limited options? Power Supplies Dec 20, 2016
    Corsair CX500 Fan replacement Suggestions Power Supplies Nov 4, 2016
    Had to replace my power supply, this is what I chose Power Supplies Apr 3, 2014
    Compatible Power Supply Unit to Replace Original in Old System Power Supplies Jan 20, 2014

  3. max347

    max347 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is your price range?
     
  4. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    would like it to be 80 and under considering its an older machine
     
  5. max347

    max347 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Honestly I don't think you need to spend that much. I would buy one of these and be done with it-
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139049

    I had the original CX400 and bitcoin mined a 5870 on it 24/7 and it was rock solid.


    The only thing I would say is make sure to measure your current PSU before buying a new one, I cannot confirm that that specific Dell case uses a standard ATX psu.
     
  6. Charlie98

    Charlie98 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,897
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've had to replace the PSU on my old Dell 5150, I don't believe it's an ATX... and there isn't enough room for anything bigger than what's there, that's for sure. Definitely check before you buy!


    You definitely don't need anything bigger than a 400-430w PSU, and why modular? The CX430 (non-modular) is a very good unit and can be had for as little as $25 or so on sale. I have one in my HTPC and I think I only have one cable unused... so it wouldn't have made any sense in my case to go modular.
     
  7. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    pretty sure i wont need all the cables

    and many people that have done it on there forum says any standard atx should fit
     
  8. hoorah

    hoorah Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually have 2 power supplies, one from a dell E510, the other from a similar dell.

    They're mostly ATX. The mounting holes on the back match the ATX hole spacing. Unfortunately, the dell PSUs are just slightly taller than standard ATX, probably because dell just wanted to piss me off.

    Anyway, I don't see a problem using a standard ATX supply in a dell, but using the dell in a standard ATX might be tough if you have a lip or a rail that the PSU mounts on that restricts the height. I know nothing of the electronics of it, but it should be standard ATX 24pin + 4.

    If you want one of my dell PSUs, I'd sell it dirt cheap but with shipping its probably a better idea to just get one of the corsair builder series with a rebate.
     
  9. Charlie98

    Charlie98 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,897
    Likes Received:
    3
    That may be true, but what I have found, even in the very limited experience I have with OEM stuff... is you just never know. ;)
     
  10. lucaswhite

    lucaswhite Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, if the computer is not new. Just get a practical one.