Replacing computer speakers

Discussion in 'Audio/Video & Home Theater' started by Spike, Dec 18, 2012.

  1. Spike

    Spike Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    I saw that, this was just a few hours after I panic purchased an AK meaning now I'm well and truly broke. :mad:

    Though come to think of it, whats another $100 when I'm this far in debt? ugh...

    *EDIT pulled the trigger. Now I just hope those amazon giftcards come through for Christmas so I can get the Yamaha receiver and the Polk sub to go with the energy micros.
     
    #26 Spike, Dec 21, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2012
  2. Spike

    Spike Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, got my Yamaha 373, Energy Micros, and Polk PSW10 all hooked up and so far they sound great, though I need to setup that little microphone thingee to get them dialed in.

    What I want to know now is how the heck to get all 5 speakers working when playing games? I have the pc hooked up to the received via coax and when playing bluray I get all channels and it sounds nice. However, when playing games I'm only getting 2.1 and thats with the in game settings set to surround. Any ideas how to get surround working? If I can't do surround in games then all of this was for nothing...

    Thanks!!
     
  3. fralexandr

    fralexandr Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    maybe a better way?: you might be able to connect the gfx card via HDMI to the receiver and have it count as a more or less phantom display by sending only audio. http://www.overclock.net/t/1212983/eyefinity-questions-with-a-hdmi-receiver
    I wasn't aware that one could actually do this o_O, but I guess it's possible now.
    Assuming you have an extra HDMI output and 1 HDMI cable, you can get uncompressed 5.1 audio this way <3.


    Otherwise, you can't send uncompressed 5.1 over optical, so you will need to compress it to DD 5.1 or DTS.
    http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/302145-28-wont-play-optical-spdif-output
    http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/342112-31-motherboard-audio-receiver
    the game needs to support dolby DTS/DD 5.1, or you need some way to encode it into that format. Otherwise the game's probably just outputting PCM and clipping the extra channels. Some of the newer games are going the dolby route, but i'm not sure if it's that common (derp: I can't believe I forgot to realize that many games don't do dolby audio).


    http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1708835
    Your realtek alc892 should have an option to encode sound as Dolby Digital Live before outputting it via optical [see hardforum link for pictures]. You might be able to find it in windows, though I doubt it [playback devices > device > advanced]
    Link to the asrock z68 extreme4 download site, if you need to download the realtek HD audio manager (win 7 64-bit)
    http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?cat=Download&os=Win764&Model=Z68 Extreme4

    [size=-2]otherwise if the above doesn't work, creative happens to have software that can do this on specific cards (note the xtremeAUDIO is not included since it technically uses audigy chipsets)
    http://us.store.creative.com/Dolby-Digital-Live-and-DTS-Connect/M/B006GK76QE.htm
    the cards supported are:
    Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
    Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
    Sound Blaster X-Fi
    Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
    Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty Champion Series
    Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
    Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty® Pro
    Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer
    Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
    Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional Series
    Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series

    x-fi xtremegamer sb0770 $28 (the half height xtremegamers don't have optical hah)
    http://www.amazon.com/Genuine-Creati.../dp/B0093L6SCG[/size]
     
    #28 fralexandr, Jan 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2013
  4. Spike

    Spike Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the info!

    In my case HDMI is probably not the way to go since I am running triple LCD's so am using both DVI's (means the HDMI is not available) and one displayport. I could get another displayport to DVI adapter though and free up the HDMI...

    I'll try it the software way first, if that does not work then the adapter for the 6970 would be the next cheapest route, assuming I can send 3 video signals and 1 audio signal from the card. If that does not work i guess I'll have to look at a new sound card... ugh.

    Just surfing amazon and noticed this, would this work for a somewhat cheap solution? It says it supports DD live as long as your receiver does.

    http://www.amazon.com/Creative-Sound...=creative+x-fi
     
    #29 Spike, Jan 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2013
  5. fralexandr

    fralexandr Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep that should work, the x-fi i linked to is cheaper (~$33 w/ software) but I guess the USB option would be good if you don't have an extra PCI slot.

    your onboard sound should work though.
     
  6. Spike

    Spike Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did some more digging and it appears that ALC892 does not support DD so it won't sent out 5.1 via the coax though the lower numbered ALC889 does... go figure.

    I do have a spare PCI slot, I just figured USB might work better so it could be moved around if needed easier.
     
  7. Spike

    Spike Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the link though I'm glad I did not look at that site first, their surround recommendation is the Logitech Z906. While these speakers are not terrible they are a step down from the previous Z5500's who themselves were a step down from a self assembled HT setup in the same price range, except for maybe the sub.

    Either way I made my orders and am fairly happy now, though once my SB Z arrives I'll be much happier as I can get 5.1 in games again! Total cost for the entire system, including cables, was about $580. More than I originally wanted to spend, and almost double the Z906 cost, but in the end it will sound much better and last a lot longer. Plus I can now upgrade it piecemeal later on if I want.

    Thanks everyone who helped out!
     
  8. gus6464

    gus6464 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    2
  9. Spike

    Spike Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, there's that too. From what I've seen (heard actually) Bose speakers put out some decent sound but they are never worth the price. And even when you finally find one that is almost worth what they charge I can't bring myself to buy it based on principle :D