quick baseball question about the sacrifice fly...

jonnyjack

Platinum Member
Oct 13, 1999
2,170
1
0
hey,

when someone hits a sac fly, example: guy on third and he hits it to RF and the man on base tags up and scores, does that count as an at-bat? TIA
 

Aceman

Banned
Oct 9, 1999
3,159
0
0
that is an atbat, an out, and a rbi. Thus equalling what is called a Sacrifice RBI. He sacrificed himself while at bat to get an RBI for the team. If the run does or does not score has no bearing on a caught fly ball being counted as an At Bat

though, wehat really matters right now is that the Twins should win their game. It would take a miracle for the Indians to come back from a 2102 decicit and the Mariners need to wake up and beat the White Sox.
 

Cerebus451

Golden Member
Nov 30, 2000
1,425
0
76
no, sacrifice flies and sacrifice hits (aka bunts) are NOT counted as at bats.

At bat = hit, out (not a sacrifice), reach on error, reach on fielder's choice
plate appearance = at bat, walk, sacrifice, HBP
 

b0mbrman

Lifer
Jun 1, 2001
29,471
1
81


<< no, sacrifice flies and sacrifice hits (aka bunts) are NOT counted as at bats.

At bat = hit, out (not a sacrifice), reach on error, reach on fielder's choice
plate appearance = at bat, walk, sacrifice, HBP
>>


Errors don't count as at bats... i'm sure on that one
 

lllJRlll

Senior member
Mar 12, 2002
288
0
0


<< no, sacrifice flies and sacrifice hits (aka bunts) are NOT counted as at bats.

At bat = hit, out (not a sacrifice), reach on error, reach on fielder's choice
plate appearance = at bat, walk, sacrifice, HBP
>>






What Cerebus said is correct.It's an rbi but not an official at bat
 

Dudd

Platinum Member
Aug 3, 2001
2,865
0
0
I don't believe that it's an at-bat. If a fly ball scores a run, you get credited with an RBI but not an 0 for 1 at the plate. If you bunt a man over, same thing, except not always an RBI.
 

BuckleDownBen

Banned
Jun 11, 2001
519
0
0
An error is an at-bat if the batter would have made an out had the error not occured. So if you hit a ground ball and the shortstop boots it, the you are 0 for 1. Sacrifices, walks, and hit by pitch are all not at bats.

I can't believe the amount of bad info in this thread.
 

XMan

Lifer
Oct 9, 1999
12,513
49
91


<< no, sacrifice flies and sacrifice hits (aka bunts) are NOT counted as at bats. >>



And that is why the sac fly is the most beautiful play in sports. You help the team, and are not penalized.
 

Cerebus451

Golden Member
Nov 30, 2000
1,425
0
76


<< Errors don't count as at bats... i'm sure on that one >>


Actually, they do count as at bats. An at bat without a hit. I can't find a page that describes what constitutes an at bat, but this page has a description of a plate appearance, which is At-Bats + Bases on Balls + Hit By Pitcher + Sacrifice Hits + Sacrifice Flies + Times Reached on Defensive Interference. If you subtract off everything else, then an at-bat is a hit, reached on an error, reach on a fielders choice, or produced an out that was not a sacrifice.



<< An error is an at-bat if the batter would have made an out had the error not occured. >>


That is a little more precise. If the batter reaches base on an error, it is an at bat without a hit. If the batter takes an extra base because of an error, it is an at bat, a hit, and an error.
 

jonnyjack

Platinum Member
Oct 13, 1999
2,170
1
0
thanks guys, i was just checking my fantasy team and noticed a guy had just hit a sac fly and was not charged with an atbat, wasn't sure about it though cause yahoo doesn't always keep the stats up to date...thanks again

go A's! not today though, :p
 

ElFenix

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Mar 20, 2000
102,414
8,356
126
hmmmm... i never knew that... maybe if i was really paying attention to box scores i'd have figured it out.
 

Cyberian

Diamond Member
Jun 17, 2000
9,999
1
0
I know that's the rule, but it's really kinda bullsh|t.

Batter hits routine fly to right with bases empty = an at bat.
Batter hits exactly the same fly to right and man on second goes to third = no at bat.
 

joeryu

Golden Member
Sep 14, 2000
1,678
0
0


Ok there is a LOT of misleading information in this thread...let me clear things up

1.) sac fly isnt a sac fly unless someone scores...so if they just tag to third then its an at bat, guy is 0 for 1.
2.) if runner scores from the fly ball then batter is 0 for 0, no at bat, just rbi.
3.) if defense makes error, you are 0 for 1, you get at bat, and its just like grounding out/flying out.
 

fr

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
6,408
2
81


<< Ok there is a LOT of misleading information in this thread...let me clear things up

1.) sac fly isnt a sac fly unless someone scores...so if they just tag to third then its an at bat, guy is 0 for 1.
2.) if runner scores from the fly ball then batter is 0 for 0, no at bat, just rbi.
3.) if defense makes error, you are 0 for 1, you get at bat, and its just like grounding out/flying out.
>>




That's correct!! Ding ding ding ding ding
 

Cyberian

Diamond Member
Jun 17, 2000
9,999
1
0


<< 2.) if runner scores from the fly ball then batter is 0 for 0, no at bat, just rbi. >>

So a batter could have a number of Runs Batted In, without ever having been at bat. Hmmm.
 

prodigy

Lifer
Oct 9, 1999
14,822
1
0


<<

<< 2.) if runner scores from the fly ball then batter is 0 for 0, no at bat, just rbi. >>

So a batter could have a number of Runs Batted In, without ever having been at bat. Hmmm.
>>



Yep, but he would still accumulate plate apperances making his on base percentage a triple goose egg (.000). ;)

If it happens early in the season, it can bring up one of the rare scenarios where a player has a higher batting average than OBP.
Say his first time up is a sac fly. (BA - null, OBP - .000)
2nd is an out. (BA - .000, OBP - .000)
3rd is a single. (BA - .500, OBP - .333)
 

CKDragon

Diamond Member
Jan 22, 2001
3,875
0
0


<< I can't believe the amount of bad info in this thread. >>



Why not? It's threads like these that make you remember what sector of life the majority of ATers are from. :p

I'm a college ump, a sac fly does not count as an At Bat. As far as errors in general, I'm glad I'm not a stat keeper, too subjective. :D

CK