Questions about custom Raspberry Pi build.

cjp87

Jan 6, 2012
I wasn't really sure where to put this, so I figured that "general hardware" might be applicable.

I just ordered a Raspberry Pi, and one of my ideas for a build was to build a miniature (and I mean miniature) MAME cabinet. The fine folks working in Raspbian distro compiling have gotten quite a bit of video game/arcade emulation working, and I think a super small and battery-operated single-player cabinet would be a fun and interesting way to dive straight into tinkering with the little computer.

I'll put this up front: I have little to no experience in in-depth hardware builds. I have built several desktop computers, but that doesn't involve anything so complex as trying to ensure a battery can power both the computer and the display, or even how to hook the display up to the computer itself.

And those are probably my two biggest questions: What will I have to do to get a display working with the Pi, and what will I have to do to get a rechargeable battery pack to power the system.

For the display, I was thinking something like a replacement netbook display. Ebay has an Acer 8.9" LCD @ 1024x600 for a reasonable $40, but that's panel only with no controller. I've looked for controllers, but I don't really know what I'm looking for. The Pi can do HDMI and composite out for video.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-8-9-WSV...-for-Acer-Aspire-One-ZG5-Matte-/180946739296?

For the battery, I'm at a bit of a loss. I've found some cell phone external batteries and the like on Amazon and eBay, and they seem to offer okay capacities, but since the whole purpose of this is for me to learn something about hardware while making something fun, I wouldn't be opposed to trying to make a battery pack with rechargeable cells, so long as that's not cost-prohibitive. It would need to 1) power the Pi + Display for several hours and 2) output power via micro USB (which is how the Pi receives power).