Question about MSI Z77a g43 motherboard performance

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Xenphor, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. coffeejunkee

    coffeejunkee Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, either cpu or ram...or even something else still, like psu or motherboard. But checking ram first would probably be best. Temps are fine and errors shouldn't occur at stock speed.

    List your complete specs as well please.
     
  2. Xenphor

    Xenphor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    My specs are:

    3570k at 3.4ghz
    MSI z77a g43 mb
    8 gigs of Corsair Vengeance ram
    Nvidia gtx 680
    250gb HD and 320gb HD
    Antec EA 650 Watt 80 Plus Bronze

    I was able to pass the burn test with Very High settings but not maximum
     
  3. coffeejunkee

    coffeejunkee Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    PSU? 2x4 or 4x2 ram? ram mhz?

    I suspect ram because the difference between very high and maximum in IBT is more memory used for the last one.
     
  4. Xenphor

    Xenphor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    ram is at 1600mhz 4x2 using xmp profile
    Antec EA 650 Watt 80 Plus Bronze
     
  5. coffeejunkee

    coffeejunkee Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try with normal spd instead of xmp. Also try with 1 stick first and different slots. Or maybe ram needs a slight bump in voltage.
     
  6. Xenphor

    Xenphor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I think I managed to narrow it down to one stick of ram that would not let me complete the intel burn test. Although now with just the other ram, my scores are much lower. Guess I'll have to get some more.
     
  7. Ketchup

    Ketchup Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    13,067
    Likes Received:
    39
    Don't worry about benchmarks. Worry about actual performance. Your RAM should be under warranty anyway.
     
  8. Xenphor

    Xenphor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I ordered a new motherboard (Asus now) and ram (samsung). Hopefully I get better performance.
     
  9. coffeejunkee

    coffeejunkee Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    You won't. I'm pretty sure there is nothing wrong performance wise with your current system. It's normal for IBT to have lower GFlops with less memory but it's completely irrelevant for normal usage. Regular applications just use the ram they need, adding more than that does nothing. Just rma the bad ram stick.