Question Question about getting FIOS gigabyte speeds with wireless and wireless extender

rprescot

Dec 9, 2020
I'd like to keep these questions simple because I'm not good at this stuff.

I know if I upgrade from my current FIOS 100Mbps to their 200Mbps service, pretty much the only way to achieve close to the advertised speed is to connect a router to the ONT with ethernet cable and then wire my computer directly to the router, again with CAT6. But I can't do that in my house.

I only have two options both of which I would do. After connecting a router in the basement to the ONT via CAT6, I would

(a) use the router's transmitted wi-fi

and

(b) connect the router to my house's co-ax and then connect a wi-fi extender to the coax in my upstairs office. I would then connect my computer to the extender with CAT6.

Putting aside, for now, questions about types of routers and extenders, where to get them from, wi-fi "dead spots" in the house, and the specifics of my computers', tablets', phones', etc. wi-fi capabilities, here's my first question.

1. Because high-speed internet speed (I assume) seriously degrades or steps-down when converted to wireless or run through co-ax, does it make any sense for me to upgrade to 200Mbps? Would I still have a chance of getting a noticeable improvement in upload and download speeds given what I described in (a) and (b) above?

Next

2. If the answer to (1) is "yes", then ignoring dead zones and the limitations of my current devices, what should I look for in router and extender specifications to make it happen?

I appreciate any help I can get on this. Thanks.

SamirD

Golden Member
Jun 12, 2019
www.huntsvillecarscene.com
So wifi does degrade and if you use moca 2.0 adapters for the coax, that will NOT degrade as they are good for full gigabit transmission speeds.