Q8200 overclock

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by Shephard, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. Shephard

    Shephard Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like to overclock the Q8200 but I am not sure how. What should I do in bios?

    I am using the stock intel cooler with it. That is all I got.

    I would like to hit 3.0ghz if possible!

    I have 4GB ddr2 kingston.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Q8200 overclock Forum Date
    Q8200 overclocking. OC gurus needed ^^* CPUs and Overclocking May 2, 2011
    Q8200 and GTX 260 Bottleneck? CPUs and Overclocking Dec 16, 2010
    VirtualBox on a Q8200... CPUs and Overclocking Sep 21, 2010
    Q8200 + Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro = 50c idle? CPUs and Overclocking May 29, 2010
    Overclocking Q8200 & EVGA 750i CPUs and Overclocking Oct 14, 2008

  3. Torn Mind

    Torn Mind Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    30
    It involves increasing the FSB speed. You probably would want to decrease the RAM speed in BIOS since increasing the FSB will increase the MHz the RAM runs at.
     
  4. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    36,432
    Likes Received:
    906
    Set your DRAM ratio to 1:1, or 2.0 in Gigabyte parlance. Then set FSB to 400 for 2.8Ghz. Higher (which will also OC RAM) for 3.0Ghz.

    This assumes you have DDR2-800 RAM.
     
  5. Shephard

    Shephard Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Maximilian

    Maximilian Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,592
    Likes Received:
    5