Pulled the trigger on a new iMac

Mixolydian

Lifer
Nov 7, 2011
gilramirez.net
My computer (PC that I built) committed suicide last night. I was planning on buying an iMac anyways when it got updated. So I decided to pull the trigger and buy the current 21" model. Will be delivered tomorrow (Amazon Prime).

Just thought I'd share.

SSWilson

Dec 29, 2001
Congrats! I'm sure you will love it. I've been using iMac's for a few years now and really enjoy them. Have fun.

Mixolydian

Lifer
Nov 7, 2011
gilramirez.net
Wish the FedEx guy wold hurry up and come! Im bouncing off the walls over here!

Btw this is my first "flat-screen" iMac. Only other iMac ive owned was one of the CRT G3's (Indigo color!)

if it has HDMI out, you can put to HTPC use

My mini is connected to an HDMI monitor. It is used for my music production rig.

joshhedge

Nov 19, 2011
Wish the FedEx guy wold hurry up and come! Im bouncing off the walls over here!

Btw this is my first "flat-screen" iMac. Only other iMac ive owned was one of the CRT G3's (Indigo color!)

My mini is connected to an HDMI monitor. It is used for my music production rig.

Did you happen to go with the fusion drive?

Mixolydian

Lifer
Nov 7, 2011
gilramirez.net
Yummy

9049467953_1cd1818ee7_z.jpg

Mixolydian

Lifer
Nov 7, 2011
gilramirez.net
Just thought I'd give a little update, if anyone cares:

Had this computer a week now. Overall I'm very happy with it. I was worried that 8GB RAM wouldn't be enough, as I also run Win7 in a VM, but so far I haven't had any issues in that respect. The only thing that's kind of annoying is the 5400RPM stock HDD. Coming from an SSD, that's quite a shock. I can live with it though.

But seriously, why the hell are companies still using 5400RPM drives??