Ps3 display through computer

Discussion in 'Console Gaming' started by sze5003, Nov 15, 2012.

  1. sze5003

    sze5003 Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10,768
    Likes Received:
    18
    Has anyone tried connecting the ps3 via hdmi to their graphics card on the pc? Will it display on your monitor? Would like to move the system in my room but don't want to buy another tv or monitor. My monitor only has dvi though but was wondering if I could take advantage of the display through hdmi.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - display computer Forum Date
    Consoles displaying artifacts Console Gaming Mar 20, 2014
    Just got a PS3, need help with Displays Console Gaming Feb 4, 2013
    Display Settings for Xbox 360 Console Gaming Jan 31, 2013
    PS3 Doesn't see files on my computer... Console Gaming Sep 8, 2012
    I got a good deal on a Sony 24" Playstation brand 3d display Console Gaming May 16, 2012

  3. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope not possible as the ports are outputs not inputs
     
  4. mmntech

    mmntech Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17,513
    Likes Received:
    2
    It can be done, but not via the GPU card. You'd need to buy a capture card with HDMI input. Cheapest decent one I could find was $125. Obviously it's not a practical solution unless you're doing game videos/reviews.

    What you really need is one of these...
    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10419&cs_id=1041902&p_id=2029&seq=1&format=2
    Or one of these...
    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10231&cs_id=1023104&p_id=2405&seq=1&format=2

    That will allow you to hook up your PS3 directly to your monitor without going through the PC. Far cheaper than a capture card and you'll get better results. Only downside is you'll need to hook the PS3 up to external stereo speakers. You'll need something like this if you don't have a stereo receiver.
    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...d=10218&cs_id=1021804&p_id=666&seq=1&format=2
    You may also need this if your speakers have fixed wiring.
    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10429&cs_id=1042901&p_id=7230&seq=1&format=2

    You can plug it directly into your PC speakers. You just sacrifice surround sound. If you have an external AV surround receiver, you can alternatively use a TOSLINK optical cable.
     
  5. sze5003

    sze5003 Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10,768
    Likes Received:
    18
    Thanks for the info. I rarely use the ps3 except for now recently and normally tv is taken by my gf all day (channel never changes ). It's just for her I got cable else I never use it. Will look into those and see if it's feasible for me.
     
  6. thegimp03

    thegimp03 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,425
    Likes Received:
    1
    You could buy an HDMI -> DVI cable for pretty cheap from Monoprice.

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/search.asp?keyword=hdmi+to+dvi+cable

    What I'd do in your position, is I'd buy one of these:

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10110&cs_id=1011002&p_id=5557&seq=1&format=2

    Then, I'd run HDMI cables from your computer and your PS3 into it, then run a HDMI-to-DVI cable from the switcher to the monitor. How is your sound setup?

    Edit: Sorry, I didn't realize mmntech already got you on the setup.
     
    #5 thegimp03, Nov 15, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2012
  7. sze5003

    sze5003 Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10,768
    Likes Received:
    18
    Sound is simple 2 speakers with bass. I live in an upstairs apartment so I can't have a really loud system. The two speakers are plugged in the bass and then they are both connected to one cord that leads to the audio port on my pc.

    Thing is I just realized she watches netflix on the ps3 a lot lol when here I was thinking she was just using cable tv. It's either or, it's a setup I will need to look up and buy unless I can just get black Friday deal on a monitor that has hdmi but I dont really have space or need 2 monitors.
     
  8. Tweak155

    Tweak155 Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    10,508
    Likes Received:
    38
    I used a receiver to plug into my monitor. Works just fine. You can get a cheap one for like $150 and it will give you more options in the future.

    I had 3 systems and a computer hooked into a projector, tv and a monitor. Ultimate flexibility.
     
  9. lamedude

    lamedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,179
    Likes Received:
    0
    PS3 uses HDCP so a HDMI to DVI won't work if your monitor doesn't support HDCP.
     
  10. sze5003

    sze5003 Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10,768
    Likes Received:
    18
    Hmm how can I figure out if it doesn't ? I need to check that. I'm guessing it doesn't but who knows
     
  11. cmdrdredd

    cmdrdredd Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2001
    Messages:
    25,013
    Likes Received:
    46