Picked up a S&W M&P Compact 9mm

Journer

Banned
Jun 30, 2005
looks cool. i wish i was a student. i've got a permit but you still cant take weapons near school, oh well :p my gun is way to damn big to carry anyways.

i was going to make another thread for this, but i guess i could just save space and ask in this one.

I've been thinking about adding a m1911 (.45acp) to my collection (lol 1 gun) and i was wondering if anyone recommends a specific brand. there is a gun show next weekend and i want to pick up a used one there. preferable under 400 bucks.

Imyourzero

Diamond Member
Jan 21, 2002
Nice. I've used an M&P full size 9mm and it was great. I really considered buying an M&P .40 compact when Bud's Gun Shop had them for $439 + 2 free mags + free range bag, but the reports of mag drop problems made me hold off.

The newer ones should be OK -- congrats on a nice gun!

tfinch2

Lifer
Feb 3, 2004
Originally posted by: Journer
looks cool. i wish i was a student. i've got a permit but you still cant take weapons near school, oh well :p my gun is way to damn big to carry anyways.

i was going to make another thread for this, but i guess i could just save space and ask in this one.

I've been thinking about adding a m1911 (.45acp) to my collection (lol 1 gun) and i was wondering if anyone recommends a specific brand. there is a gun show next weekend and i want to pick up a used one there. preferable under 400 bucks.

I don't know if you're going to find a good 1911 for under $400 bucks.

I would look for a Springfield GI Mil-Spec for ~$500.

http://www.impactguns.com/store/706397866686.html

Squisher

Lifer
Aug 17, 2000
After reading that review it sounds like a nice weapon. I like the way the grip was moved a little forward in relation to the barrel. It looks like there are opportunities to get some of sharp corners rounded (melting) if you would want to do that in the future.

shortylickens

No Lifer
Jul 15, 2003
I am suprised Guns & Ammo gave it such a good review.