Phanteks RGB LED Combo & Asus Z370-I - Works?

dclive

Elite Member
Oct 23, 2003
I have the older (ie not the brand new "digital" RGB) Phanteks RGB LED Combo kit:

https://www.amazon.com/Phanteks-PH-...1526181667&sr=8-1&keywords=phanteks+led+combo

And I have an Asus Z370-I :

https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/ROG-STRIX-Z370-I-GAMING/

The Phanteks combo includes "Asus Aura" details (Works with...) on the box.

I have the Phanteks cable plugged into the Asus MB's RGB connection. The Asus MB has a 12V pin, and I've connected that to the 5V pin on the Phanteks cable. (Or the reverse...)

When I open up Aura (latest version 1.05.32.2) I see my RAM and the RGB headers on the motherboard, but it still says "ADD STRIP..." in the Aura utility (implying to me it doesn't see the strip....) and I can't control it or do anything with it.

What am I doing wrong? I've never used a MB LED strip before. I just got something basic to try it....

cmdrdredd

Lifer
Dec 12, 2001
The Asus Aura software is incredibly buggy and it doesn't even see my motherboard on there. I gave up trying to make it work. I have a feeling it's the software and not your setup.

dclive

Elite Member
Oct 23, 2003
The Asus Aura software is incredibly buggy and it doesn't even see my motherboard on there. I gave up trying to make it work. I have a feeling it's the software and not your setup.

Out of curiousity, what motherboard do you have?

cmdrdredd

Lifer
Dec 12, 2001
What version of the Aura software are you running?