(P4C800 deluxe) No more using DOS based utility?

ecko

Junior Member
Jul 6, 2003
2
0
0
Ok im new to forums and am not a computer wiz, but i did just built my first computer

Intel P-4 2.4c 800fsb Was going to get the 3.0, but thought I'd wait for the prescott no point wasting the $
Samsung 512mb DDR 400 PC-3200 X2
Seagate S-ata 80.0gb 7,200 rpm drives w/8mb Cache X2 Was going to raid, but wont work?
MS Windows XP Pro
Radeon 9700 Pro
LG 52x24x52 cd-rw
Creative sound blaster Audigy Platinum
And of course the case, psu, dvd player, ect..... So far so good!!! I had the one beep problem after i finished her up, and read in the manual that it was a Memory refresh timer error, So i thought i had memory problems, I called my dealer up and he asked if it was a constent beep, I said no, that i could get into windows right after. He said that you always get that on start up(just saying that everthing is ok), if the beep kept going on, then you have a problem! So my question is i want this raid to work, but after reading all the post, it looks like i have to update my Bios! Well This is one thing that has me ticked off about this board! it states in the manual that there is no need to use a DOS-based utility, ok so far all the updates you need dos? Now im confused I have windows xp pro, how do i do this in Dos, I dont have it! Do i need to get it, and install it, is AFUDOS.exe a dos program, cause the instruction for installing the BIOS say DO NOT USE AFUDOS.exe or ASUS EZ FLASH use a dos utility?????????
Also whats with Asus, i cant get into there forums? I cant down load from some of there sites ie: germany, global, ect.... and when i do get one,and i unzip it i get errors???? like from 3com, and promise etc... the only way i got the net to work is to just put the driver in and turn off the onboard lan control, and enable the onboard LAN, no software that came with it! The board is fast and is running great, but Asus is starting to make me think twice about them, my last board was a Msi, and i had no problems from there site, i got what i wanted , easy bios updates, and installs! I was also reading to get the promise down load i should have bios 1.007 or 8, but i cant cause they make it so confussing! Can someone help me out here! My pat technology is working, but i dont even notice it, and i have my memory set to 400mhz in the bios, everthing working so far, i have not oc it yet, well the pat i guess, but thats nothing! Also has anyone noticed that the temp is diff in the pc probe and the BIos temps? like 10 off? Whats with that, There's many more questions, i could go on about but those are my big ones!
 

Iron Woode

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Oct 10, 1999
30,874
12,379
136
Maybe Asus is having technical difficulties.

Flashing from a DOS prompt is easy. Just use a win98 boot disk.

EZ flash is for flashing in windows. Not a good idea.
 

Budman

Lifer
Oct 9, 1999
10,980
0
0
Originally posted by: Iron Woode
Maybe Asus is having technical difficulties.

Flashing from a DOS prompt is easy. Just use a win98 boot disk.

EZ flash is for flashing in windows. Not a good idea.

Asus update from windows is a good ideal & it works very well.I have done it many times & never had any problems.

Pop in your Asus driver cdrom and install Asus Update,start it up & update bios from file or let the program itself get it,then flash & reboot,it's very easy.
 

gramboh

Platinum Member
May 3, 2003
2,207
0
0
Make sure you are not overclocking when you do this. A random CPU/memory error could freeze the process and corrupt the BIOS, although I believe the P4C800 has the same CrashFree bios recovery-from-disk feature that the P4P800 has.
 

ecko

Junior Member
Jul 6, 2003
2
0
0
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"You are a moron, get your ass out of this forum"

What "moron" put you in charge? Take your own advice as you have worn out your welcome here.

AnandTech "takenosheit" Moderator

If you post any variation of I B T L again, you will be OBTL.

AnandTech Moderator
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



ummmmmm? is this comment for me? Is there something I did wrong? Also I dont have windows 98 disk, is there a web site that i can get it from?
 

Budman

Lifer
Oct 9, 1999
10,980
0
0
Originally posted by: ecko
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"You are a moron, get your ass out of this forum"

What "moron" put you in charge? Take your own advice as you have worn out your welcome here.

AnandTech "takenosheit" Moderator

If you post any variation of I B T L again, you will be OBTL.

AnandTech Moderator
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


ummmmmm? is this comment for me? Is there something I did wrong? Also I dont have windows 98 disk, is there a web site that i can get it from?


hahahah Take no offence he just put this in his Signature & it's not aimed at you. :)

You dont need a boot disk,use the Windows Asus flash utility,it's quite safe dont worry.
 

Iron Woode

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Oct 10, 1999
30,874
12,379
136
Originally posted by: ecko
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"You are a moron, get your ass out of this forum"

What "moron" put you in charge? Take your own advice as you have worn out your welcome here.

AnandTech "takenosheit" Moderator

If you post any variation of I B T L again, you will be OBTL.

AnandTech Moderator
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



ummmmmm? is this comment for me? Is there something I did wrong? Also I dont have windows 98 disk, is there a web site that i can get it from?

Of course not!

Hahaha. No it is just a moderator saying I found and I thought it was funny, so I added it to my signature.