p2b rev 1.02 what's the highest processor for this board?

smp

Diamond Member
Dec 6, 2000
5,215
0
76
Thanks.. just curious cause I might have one on the way. I think PIII 600 is okay right? Can I go higher? With the slotket? Thanks.
 

AndyHui

Administrator Emeritus<br>Elite Member<br>AT FAQ M
Oct 9, 1999
13,140
6
81
You know that I have about 30 posts on this...:D

You can use any Intel processor with a 100MHz FSB, or if you don't mind the AGP being out of spec at 89MHz, you can also use 133MHz FSB processors. The P2B does have a 1/4 PCI divider at 133MHz, so you do not need to worry about that either. Multiplier is NOT an issue, since all Intel processors are multiplier locked, and they will ignore whatever setting your motherboard has and use its own multiplier.

You must have the latest BIOS, either 1012 Final or 1013 Beta 007.

Depending on the revision of the board, you may or may not need to do a bit of tweaking for it to work. If you have PCB rev 1.12, it already has support for Coppermine voltages. Earlier revisions may not. In such cases, you need to use a slotket with an FC-PGA processor, and set the slotket to manually request 1.80 volts, which is the lowest that boards as far back as rev 1.02 can handle. This voltage is fine for Coppermines, and assists greatly in overclocking should you want to. If you do not set the voltage manually on the slotket, the system will not boot.

You can find the PCB revision printed directly on the board in small lettering next to the name of the board itself, located between the PCI and ISA slots.


 

julianf

Senior member
Jun 6, 2001
239
0
0
thanks!!! i was looking for that! my p2b-ds is the first rev. and i need it to take atleast two 750's---
 

julianf

Senior member
Jun 6, 2001
239
0
0
i do i do... a slocket sounds like alot of fun :) i would be able to go 8.5x at 100fsb then right?
 

sitka

Senior member
Dec 29, 2000
895
0
0


<< Multiplier is NOT an issue, since all Intel processors are multiplier locked, and they will ignore whatever setting your motherboard has and use its own multiplier. >>


750 Cumine is 7.5X with slocket, mobo, till h*ll freezes over however you want to think about it. 7.5x will not change
 

AndyHui

Administrator Emeritus<br>Elite Member<br>AT FAQ M
Oct 9, 1999
13,140
6
81
You could probably go further, all the way to 1GHz. 850MHz is not the limit; 100MHz FSB 1GHz processors should be available.

Not that not all 1GHz processors are cleared/validated for SMP dual processing, but it should still work.

As sitka indicates, my initial post contains just about all the relevant information you need.
 

julianf

Senior member
Jun 6, 2001
239
0
0
it's all about money, i would prefer to buy the asus cuv4x-dls, but if i can go with a couple of slockets and two 1ghz fcpga pIII i would try... :)
 

Kroffty

Senior member
Oct 9, 1999
644
0
0
I had my p2b rev 1.02 running a p3-700 @ 933mhz 1.8v no problems
My voodoo 5 could handel the 89mhz agp and most tnt-gforce will also handel it just fine.
 

fkloster

Diamond Member
Dec 16, 1999
4,171
0
0
Hey Andy, what about the P2B-S? I heard voltage adjustments will not work for it on Coppermines?
 

MAMAFUFU

Senior member
Oct 9, 1999
415
0
76
1. The earliest revision of P2B(rev 1.02) does not has 4/1 PCI divider.
2. This revision has a maximum FSB of 112Mhz only.
3. I might be wrong on both of the above statement. I bought one in the first week of P2B's release(MAy 1998), but I have sold it already.
4. Even if (1) and (2) are correct, you still can use PIII 1Ghz(100FSB) for the 1.02rev.
 

AndyHui

Administrator Emeritus<br>Elite Member<br>AT FAQ M
Oct 9, 1999
13,140
6
81
fkloster: my initial post applies to the P2B-S as well, except for running at 133MHz FSB. This board does not support 133MHz FSB operation. This entire family of P2B boards support no manual voltage selection, apart from the over-ride offered by the slotket requirement.

MAMAFUFU: initial run PCB rev 1.02 does support the 133MHz FSB and 1/4 PCI divider: the jumper settings are documented on the board itself rather than on the manual. The manual indicates that the PCI speed is 44/33MHz at 133MHz FSB, but is actually running at the lower PCI speed.