Overclocking I5 3570k help please

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by Nighthawk87, Nov 5, 2012.

  1. Nighthawk87

    Nighthawk87 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Everyone I'm in need of help I wanna overclock my Cpu but not sure on what to disable & enable stuff in bios!! I currently got my cpu from 3.4ghz to 4.2ghz on auto Voltage :D but I wanna get like 4.4ghz or 4.5ghz ftw. What is the Highest Voltage that it can go?? & highest Temp for this cpu??


    Here is my Spec

    Intel I5 3570k
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116504

    Gigabyte G1. Sniper M3 Z77
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128551
    http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4168#ov

    Cooler Master Hyper Evo 212 2 120mm fans on it pushing over 1500rpm

    G Skill DDR3 1333mhz
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231276

    EvGa GeForce GTX 480
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130759

    CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139020


    Hitachi 3.0Gb 2TB Sata Hard Drive 64mb cach & 72,000rpm


    22x Dvd Burner Dual layer


    Rosewill RANGER Gaming Case
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Overclocking 3570k Forum Date
    First time overclocking 3570K, TZ77A board CPUs and Overclocking Apr 7, 2014
    3570K overclock Result with Temp Question..... CPUs and Overclocking Dec 25, 2013
    Would a overclock on my i5 3570k help BF4 much? CPUs and Overclocking Nov 1, 2013
    3570K Not Overclocking Well? 1.25Vcore @ 4.4Ghz CPUs and Overclocking Oct 24, 2013
    3570k good overclock? CPUs and Overclocking Jul 9, 2013

  3. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,934
    Likes Received:
    34
    1.3v is generally considered to be a good point to stop adding voltage.

    I posted a link to this earlier today for Stg-Flame:
    http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2275027

    The most important thing to turn off is Spread Spectrum when overclocking, and some may find it helpful to disable C3/C6 and package C-states though there's some debate about it - IDC has hit 4.9ghz+ with his Ivy Bridge and I don't think he has any C-states disabled.

    Tjmax for Ivy Bridge is 105c, and I wouldn't be overly concerned if your full load temperatures were in the upper 80's or lower 90's celcius.
     
  4. Nighthawk87

    Nighthawk87 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh ya ok I dont know much bout overclocking so lol I might be asking alot of question!

    ok so if I wanna hit 4.5 or 4.6ghz & do I start out vcore 1.3v? & find it where I'm stable? I did before 4.4ghz at 1.280v & it was stable when prime for 3hrs testing then when I played games it crashed :/ I didnt know if 1.3 or higher was safe or not & I will disable spread spectrum like you said & also c3/c6 & that other stuff what does that do & stuff??
     
  5. Nighthawk87

    Nighthawk87 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see you hit 4.6ghz at 1.29v WoW Very Nice wish I can do that lol
     
  6. Nighthawk87

    Nighthawk87 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would I wanna use the Cpu Ratio or Turbo Speed to Change my Ghz??
     
  7. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,934
    Likes Received:
    34
    Honestly, I recommend you follow my guide to the letter when overclocking. Setting up your bios as I recommended and using Intel's utility leaves very little room for error.

    1.280v seems quite high for running at 4.4ghz. My chip seems a little below average and I need 1.210v for stability at 4.4. What may be happening is, voltage is actually harming your stability because it's too high, and causing very high temperatures. (just a guess)

    Which brings me to the question, have you been monitoring your temperatures? I recommend using Core Temp or Real Temp. Check your temps after running Prime95 or Intel Burn Test for a few minutes.

    It also helps to keep a log of all of your variables, such as voltage vs clockspeed vs temperature, and stability or instability at those settings.
     
  8. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,934
    Likes Received:
    34
    As for C-states, they are sleep states. Essentially, they save you power when your computer is idle. C3/C6/Package C-states cause instability in my system at high overclocks while C1E and EIST do not.

    You might find some useful info in IDC's Ivy Bridge delidding thread: http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2261855
     
  9. Nighthawk87

    Nighthawk87 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    That first link you said before to follow your guide on what to do in my bios?? & o.o I have been seeing core voltage going up & down on the voltage when its at 4.2ghz on auto voltage!!! & yes I have been Using Prime95 or Aida64 & using Cpu-z & RealTemp!!

    When I have it on 4.2ghz on auto voltage everything runs fine & stuff passes the test for couple hrs stress testing it & games done crash When I had it on 4.4ghz at 1.280v my temp was
    30min 70 max 73
    23c 67 max 75
    28c 73 max 77
    30c 71 max 74

    my core Voltages is always raising up & down like crazy idk why & I have it on power saver on the screen saver part instead of High Performance!! I really wanna hit 4.5ghz but idk if something in the bios needs to be disabled or what?
     
  10. Nighthawk87

    Nighthawk87 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    It passed 2hrs of Stress test when I had it at 4.4ghz at 1.280v & when I played games it Crashed :/ I really dont know whats going on & stuff I mean i see everyone else at low voltage & I have gone over but Reset everything in bios back to normal so went back to 4.2ghz!! I just bought this system bout 2 weeks ago & got a heatsink 3 days ago & wanted to overclock this thing got it at 4.2ghz at auto voltage :))
     
  11. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,934
    Likes Received:
    34
    From the first link I posted:

    Your voltage goes up and down because a modern CPU has a voltage table, and it asks for different voltages depending (primarily) on what clockspeed it's running at. When your chip is idle it will clock down to 1600mhz and sip voltage (usually less than 1.000v) and when it ramps up it asks for more.

    On my board, the best method of overclock I have found is to put it in "offset mode" and then from Intel's utility, add turbo voltage. This only increases your voltage when you're at turbo clocks (ie 4200mhz) and doesn't increase your voltage when idle or at partial load (ex: 1600mhz, 3000mhz).

    After you've set it to offset mode and disabled the above C-states and Spread Spectrum, raise your multiplier and check for stability, and only when you start to see errors (or a crash) should you raise voltage.
     
  12. Nighthawk87

    Nighthawk87 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is a video of my Motherboard it a G1 sniper m3 that way if you can tell me anything here needs to be disabled I really dont know computer stuff that well just the overclocking part lol http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KcpYgtqjQeI
     
  13. Nighthawk87

    Nighthawk87 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    First you need to go into bios and change vcore to offset mode, but don't change the voltage (I set mine to +.005v because +0v wasn't available). In power saving features, disable C3/C6 and Package C states, but make sure you leave C1E enabled. Disable spread spectrum. Basically everything else can be left at default.

    I dont think I have a offset mode in my bios cause I try looking before for it & dont have it :/? & Disable c3/c6 & stuff & leave the c1e enabled? disable spread spectrum also? If so ok & do I use the Cpu Clock Ratio to overclock or use Turbo Speed?
     
  14. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,934
    Likes Received:
    34
    On my board I overclock by changing the Turbo multipliers but I think either is probably appropriate. I don't have a Gigabyte board and your bios is laid out a bit differently.

    Offset mode looks to be "dynamic vcore" in your bios but it's grey'd out for some reason. At this point I think someone else might need to help you, but again 1.280v is very high for 4.4ghz.

    Perhaps try this guide:

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums...ing-Guide-(Extreme-LN2-Section-Guide-Included)

    And try not to exceed 1.300v.
     
  15. Nighthawk87

    Nighthawk87 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have any Idea why I go to 4.4ghz at 1.280v & its still not stable?? I mean that pretty high for me & i didnt know if 1.3 or over was any safe?? That crazy u said u got 4.4ghz at 1.210v I just dont know why I have to go higher to get it stable & I paid all this $$ & they said this mobo is a good overclocking mobo
     
  16. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,934
    Likes Received:
    34
    There are several factors. The first one is silicon lottery - not all CPUs are created equal, yours might not be as good as mine. Many have better chips than I have. However, 1.280v is still very high for that clock, so I suspect there's something you're not doing right and I just haven't identified it yet.

    Really, I recommend you try resetting everything in bios back to default and just use Intel's utility to overclock, and see if it works out for you.
     
  17. Nighthawk87

    Nighthawk87 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh ya hmm weird man its a I5 3570k same thing lol but idk & when I overclocked all I did was use the Cpu Clock Ratio & Disabled turbo speed & changed the Cpu Vcore I started out at 4.2ghz on auto everything works passed test for couple hrs of stressing & I changed it up to 4.4ghz started at 1.25v didnt work or boot up went to 1.260 didnt work 1.270 didnt work tried 1.275v it worked tested it for 2hrs but gamed crashed & went to 1.280v stress test for 2hrs when game it crashed :/ & voltages went from 1.270 to 1.296v
     
  18. Nighthawk87

    Nighthawk87 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just ran the test again on 4.2ghz on Auto voltage & it goes from 1.236 to 1.248 to 1.260v!!! is that normal?? & I'm I doing it all right what I said above on what I changed & stuff? The max temp I got for 1hr testing was 73c and under!! I really like to hit 4.5ghz tonight If I can?
     
  19. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,934
    Likes Received:
    34
    Very strange. One thing you might try is enabling "Internal PLL overvoltage", that may allow you to run with a lower vcore. If it doesn't seem to help, turn it back off.

    I feel like you're getting a bit ahead of yourself though, I've honed in on the perfect overclock over many weeks, it's not something you can easily do in an evening.
     
  20. Nighthawk87

    Nighthawk87 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh ya ill give it a try and enable it what does that do suppose to lower cpu vcore??
    & lol ya I quess im getting ahead of my self here but really like to see a great Performance outta my New Rig I just got I like to game on PC better then Consoles lol
     
  21. Nighthawk87

    Nighthawk87 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where is the Spread Spectrum in the Bios?? I couldnt find it any where is that what its called or called something else?
     
  22. Nighthawk87

    Nighthawk87 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone Help me Overclock my System I wanna hit 4.5ghz but not sure on what to do & stuff :/