Hey all, I just picked up the following PC rig:

Core 2 Duo E6400 (2.13Ghz)
Asus P5N-E SLI (650i)
Enermax 535W
Mushkin 1G DDR2-6400 (5-5-5-15)
XFX 8800GTX
SB X-Fi XtremeMusic
LG 20" Widescreen (1650x1080)
Antec Nine Hundred (love this case with all it's big fans)

I'm looking to do most of my gaming at 1650x1080 and would like to overclock my PC as much as I can. I've done a bit of overclocking in the past, but have had nothing that can overclock as much as the C2D. I've read a bunch of overclocking guides and know the basics of how to go about doing it, but given the configuration listed above. What do you guys think I should shoot for, for a overclocking target. I don't want to play with voltages, if I don't have to. I'm not an expert at this kind of thing and I don't want to damage anything. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Shimmishim

Elite Member
Feb 19, 2001
A good goal to target would be 3.2 ghz or 8 x 400.

Your voltage should be fine and your timings set to auto should be fine.

You shouldn't need to bump up your voltage except for maybe the vcore (1.35 depending on the default vcore) and your vdimm(depending on rated voltage).

akaliel

Jan 15, 2007
How do I reduce the speed of the RAM, so that when I overclock the FSB my RAM won't try to push 1200Mhz?

Shimmishim

Elite Member
Feb 19, 2001
You're not going to need to reduce the speed of the ram assuming that your fsb and ram are running in sync or 1:1.

I'm not too familiar with the bios for the nvidia chipset unfortunately. someone with more info might ring in.

akaliel

Jan 15, 2007
My RAM is DDR2-6400, so 800Mhz, I'd have to reduce it's speed to 533 to get a 1:1 ratio, then by overclocking the FSB to 400 it would be running back up at 800 Mhz. I don't think there's anyway I'll get that RAM to run at 1200Mhz. I need to reduce it's speed first.

Shimmishim

Elite Member
Feb 19, 2001