Optimal Placement of Case Fans and CPU Cooler Orientation

Leyawiin

Diamond Member
Nov 11, 2008
Hey guys. I have an older case - Cooler Master Stacker 830. I've been searching the internet for tips on the best direction for the case fans and CPU cooler, but get so much conflicting info. Being I trust you all more than anywhere else I thought I'd ask here. ;)

The case comes with only two fans standard - a 120mm front intake and a 120 rear exhaust. There is a top fan bracket and I currently have a 120mm set to exhaust there. The CPU cooler air flow is pointing out the rear exhaust. The power supply also has a rear exhaust fan (older PC Power and Cooling Silencer). I know every case is different (this one has metal mesh side and front panels to complicate things), but generally speaking do I have it set the best for maximum cooling of the CPU? Does the top fan set to exhaust fight with the rear case fan and power supply exhaust fan? Does fan orientation even matter with those huge mesh panels on the sides?

Thanks.

BonzaiDuck

Lifer
Jun 30, 2004
Hey guys. I have an older case - Cooler Master Stacker 830. I've been searching the internet for tips on the best direction for the case fans and CPU cooler, but get so much conflicting info. Being I trust you all more than anywhere else I thought I'd ask here. ;)

The case comes with only two fans standard - a 120mm front intake and a 120 rear exhaust. There is a top fan bracket and I currently have a 120mm set to exhaust there. The CPU cooler air flow is pointing out the rear exhaust. The power supply also has a rear exhaust fan (older PC Power and Cooling Silencer). I know every case is different (this one has metal mesh side and front panels to complicate things), but generally speaking do I have it set the best for maximum cooling of the CPU? Does the top fan set to exhaust fight with the rear case fan and power supply exhaust fan? Does fan orientation even matter with those huge mesh panels on the sides?

Thanks.