OCZ Technology ModXStream Pro 700W

Macgyversite

Golden Member
Dec 8, 2002
1,163
110
106
These are excellent Power Supplies. Their 12volt rail amperage is excellent considering their total wattage. Add in the fact they are Mod Streamed so you add only the cables you need, means good stuff. I have 2 in the house right now and you cant go wrong for the money imho.
 

jlin101

Senior member
Feb 12, 2005
816
0
0
if you're really interested in buying this unit, I'd suggest that you get it from Buy.com's ebay store in order to receive the 8% cashback. I was going to jump on it until I read HEnthusiast's poor review on this unit (link). Even though OCZ now owns the venerable Power&Cooling, this PSU is designed and manufactured by Sirtec, and apparently couldn't muster 700W, despite an already low 12v amp rating (46A).
 

SpideyCU

Golden Member
Nov 17, 2000
1,402
0
0
I was about to link the exact same review that jlin101 did. After reading that, I ended up going with a Corsair 650TX. Not terribly impressed by this OCZ unit.
 

Eureka

Diamond Member
Sep 6, 2005
3,822
1
81
Originally posted by: The0ne
I read the review and passed on it as well. Wanted to find a PS for the 4870 I jut got. My Antec 500 can't drive it argh!!!

Oh, but the price is hot though :)

What's wrong with the Antec 500? I have an Earthwatts 500 and it drives my 4890 just fine.
 

The0ne

Senior member
Jan 3, 2006
454
0
0
Originally posted by: Eureka
Originally posted by: The0ne
I read the review and passed on it as well. Wanted to find a PS for the 4870 I jut got. My Antec 500 can't drive it argh!!!

Oh, but the price is hot though :)

What's wrong with the Antec 500? I have an Earthwatts 500 and it drives my 4890 just fine.

I'm not sure. The model I have is the Antec NeoPower 500. I have the basic setup on this computer as well.

Dell Inspiron
Q6600
4gig @800Mhz
500gig HD
DVDRW

That's it :(
 

iahk

Senior member
Jan 19, 2002
707
0
76
indeed, that is strange. I use the Antec Neo HE 550 and my system is fine

Intel C2D e5200
Radeon 4870 1GB
4GB DDR2 @ 800mhz
2 HDD's
DVDRW

While I'm in this thread, would an 850watt quality PSU be good enough for a crossfire setup?
 

The0ne

Senior member
Jan 3, 2006
454
0
0
Originally posted by: iahk
indeed, that is strange. I use the Antec Neo HE 550 and my system is fine

Intel C2D e5200
Radeon 4870 1GB
4GB DDR2 @ 800mhz
2 HDD's
DVDRW

While I'm in this thread, would an 850watt quality PSU be good enough for a crossfire setup?

It's even stranger because Windows 7 starts but then the display dies. I can revert back to the onboard video or another lower end video and it'll work fine. I can also go into safe mode with the 4870. So with this I'm thinking maybe it's a driver issue with Windows 7. At least I have time now that it's Friday :)

Most 850W would be ok for CF with your setup. Good 650-750W PS would work as well. Best to read up on PSs at hardocp before purchasing though. Also check Anandtech forum for help, they got a ok article on there.
 

Macgyversite

Golden Member
Dec 8, 2002
1,163
110
106
I would still take the OCZ PS. It is $40 cheaper after the rebate than the Corsair. Try and find a similar priced PS with the same Amperage and flexability. After all, are you gonna pay $40 more for every part in your computer? Not me.
 

Schmide

Diamond Member
Mar 7, 2002
5,586
718
126
I decided to get one.

At the moment I have a StealthXStream 600W

130w q6600 @ 3.5ghz
30w P45
8w 8 gb ram
260w 2 4870s in crossfire
40w 2 hd 1 DVD
15w 3 water pumps
20w 7 fans

Maximum estimate load 503w = 83% of maximum. I really doubt it could actually get there. Passes occt PSU torcher test.

I've had no problems and the voltage stays steady.

Switching to a 700w will make my Estimated load 71% of maximum. However, I really really don't want to dismantle my system. Lol

TheOne

115w Q6600 *if not overclocked
30w chipset
5w 4gig @800Mhz
15w 500gig HD
10w DVDRW
20w Fans/misc

Total 195w

130w 4870

Total 325w 65% of maximum

You should be able to run a 4870 no problem.

Have you used driver sweeper to clean your drivers???
 

Old Hippie

Diamond Member
Oct 8, 2005
6,361
1
0
Originally posted by: Macgyversite
I would still take the OCZ PS. It is $40 cheaper after the rebate than the Corsair. Try and find a similar priced PS with the same Amperage and flexability. After all, are you gonna pay $40 more for every part in your computer? Not me.

Ya get what ya pay for.
 

Schmide

Diamond Member
Mar 7, 2002
5,586
718
126
Originally posted by: Old Hippie
Ya get what ya pay for.

That's not Hot Deal speak? Sometimes you can get a good value on good equipment. Duh.

The average selling price other than this sale is around $100, I guess if you're a pure Veblen economist. Not the words I'd expect from an Old Hippie.

Edit: Now that I think about it, it was just a vague statement and I'm overacting.

 

The0ne

Senior member
Jan 3, 2006
454
0
0
I'm going to grab one too since my Antec HE500 can't handle the XFX 4870 :/ Sucks
After reading the 2nd review at hardocp.com it's not too bad if temperatures stay below 45. And with that it should be more than enough for this video card, I hope ><!
 

brblx

Diamond Member
Mar 23, 2009
5,499
2
0
500w would be more enough. either you have another issue of your psu is just defective. same for that other guy. 500w+ units are really only warranted for multi-gpu setups and maybe really big hdd arrays.
 

The0ne

Senior member
Jan 3, 2006
454
0
0
Originally posted by: brblx
500w would be more enough. either you have another issue of your psu is just defective. same for that other guy. 500w+ units are really only warranted for multi-gpu setups and maybe really big hdd arrays.

It's either the PS or the card needing just a tad bit too much. I've checked it this morning with my 600W and it runs just fine and dandy. No biggie, hopefully this one will work.
 

The0ne

Senior member
Jan 3, 2006
454
0
0
Well, as it turns out it's neither the video card or the PS! >< It's my Dell PC that won't take the XFX 4870. To be more specific if the resolution is higher than 800x600 the video card shuts down even though the PC continues to boot to desktop. It's very strange. The 4870 is running fine on my main system and I've put my 9800gx2 on the dell, which runs fine as well.

This was definitely a weird issue for me :)
 

Beanie46

Senior member
Feb 16, 2009
527
0
0
Originally posted by: Macgyversite
Yeah and a $40 more expensive Corsair doesnt get me that much if anything at all.

NO, but I'll gladly pay $40 more for a power supply that is/has:

*Independently regulated rails (Corsair) instead of an old design with group regulated rails (OCZ)

*Has high quality capacitors, such as Nippon Chemi-Con (Corsair) instead of no-name, no temp rated REC capacitors (OCZ)

*Has a 5 year warranty (Corsair) instead of 3 years (OCZ)

*Rated output at 40-50C (Corsair) instead of room temperature 25C, which leads to derating of output when faced with interior case temps of 35+C temps (OCZ)

*Managed to actually put out rated output at full load when tested (Corsair) instead of failing full load tests (OCZ)....personally, while I may not fully load a power supply, I pay for XXX watts, I should be able to draw XXX watts, instead of having the unit shut down when it's asked to do so.....



In the end, trying to cut costs on one of the most important pieces of a computer, just to save $40, is just foolish. Move down a step in processor choices or cases or motherboards....but never cut corners with your power supply.

 

Tullphan

Diamond Member
Jul 27, 2001
3,507
5
81
Originally posted by: Beanie46
Originally posted by: Macgyversite
Yeah and a $40 more expensive Corsair doesnt get me that much if anything at all.

NO, but I'll gladly pay $40 more for a power supply that is/has:

*Independently regulated rails (Corsair) instead of an old design with group regulated rails (OCZ)

*Has high quality capacitors, such as Nippon Chemi-Con (Corsair) instead of no-name, no temp rated REC capacitors (OCZ)

*Has a 5 year warranty (Corsair) instead of 3 years (OCZ)

*Rated output at 40-50C (Corsair) instead of room temperature 25C, which leads to derating of output when faced with interior case temps of 35+C temps (OCZ)

*Managed to actually put out rated output at full load when tested (Corsair) instead of failing full load tests (OCZ)....personally, while I may not fully load a power supply, I pay for XXX watts, I should be able to draw XXX watts, instead of having the unit shut down when it's asked to do so.....



In the end, trying to cut costs on one of the most important pieces of a computer, just to save $40, is just foolish. Move down a step in processor choices or cases or motherboards....but never cut corners with your power supply.

:thumbsup:
 

CrimsonWolf

Senior member
Oct 28, 2000
867
0
0
Originally posted by: Macgyversite
Yeah and a $40 more expensive Corsair doesnt get me that much if anything at all.

You get a PSU that can actually run at its specifications.
 

The0ne

Senior member
Jan 3, 2006
454
0
0
Sound is onboard. Only devices I'm connecting to the Dell is the DVDRW, HD, 4gig RAM and the video card. It really is weird that it refuses to run the 4870 at higher resolutions. No biggie since it doesn't do it to my 9800gx2 and I don't mind having the 4870 on my main PC :)