OC for AMD X2 3600 newbie here ^_^

artazexel

Jan 21, 2007
I just bought a new system and i want to try to OC, just like what I said on the topic I'm a newbie when it comes to this, the specs of my computer is: Processor AM2 X2 3600 S940; Motherboard Asrock AM2NF6G-VSTA DDR2; Memory DDR2 512MB PC800; video card Palit 7100GS PCI-E 256MB DDR.

I have a plan to upgrade the memory of my system to 2 Gigs of memory and even my video card because i heared my video card is a very lowend type kind graphic card adapter.

To till you guys honestly i don't know what to do first, do i need a software to be downloaded first to test the capability of my hardwares or something like that...

Please help T_T

formulav8

Diamond Member
Sep 18, 2000
I'm not sure how good of a ocing/tweakers board your mobo is. But you need to set a lower multiplyer to the Hypertransport Bandwidth Link, Make it a 3x or 600mhz. And then set the memory ratio down to 133 or 166 or so.

I would start the htt mhz at 230mhz, and then ramp up the htt (fsb) in 10mhz steps or so until it starts getting unstable, and then lower by a mhz steps until you reach stability. You should have no problems getting to 2.4ghz with that chip. 2.7 or higher is possible if its a good chip and you have decent cooling.

That is pretty much the simplified way to oc with the A64's.

Jason

artazexel

Jan 21, 2007
My friend told me that i need to download a software before i do OC, can you give me all the tolls that i need to perform OC pls!

Ryan the newbie ^_^

Furen

Golden Member
Oct 21, 2004
You need no software to overclock, you can do it all through the BIOS. You CAN overclock in software if you want but since I have no experience in that regard, I can't help you there.

potato28

Diamond Member
Jun 27, 2005
Originally posted by: artazexel