Question NVMe SSD Generation Question SSD Question

bob4432

Lifer
Sep 6, 2003
I am planning on a a new build in the very near future using a X570 MB (probably MSI as I appreciate the "no need for already supported CPU" button for the BIOS update, but I have no loyalty towards any brand as I have been building machines since ~1995 and have use just about all of the (I know I never used DFI as the upgrade bug and their price amhit a sweet spot for me, other than that, pretty much all) and the last 2 ASRock, and in all of those years they all ran good. I feel that a Gen3 X4 would be more than sufficient, especially the price premium and my current uses but this is going to be atleast a 5+ year buld, but I have only used upto SATAIII until what will be this new build, so I come seeking knowledge/advice. FWIW, current rig is a i5-2500K, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 RAM (do not currently know speed or timings), SATAIII 180GB main drive, 2TD RAID1 ARRAY, Antec ~430W 80+ White PSU on a Z68 based ASRock M/B, using the internal i5-2500K GPU. I am starting to rip my BkluRay/4K movies (for the time being no compression, that may change depending the $ per GB on the Spinners.

My main question is there a NVMe SSD (either generation) that would be on a "do not buy" list, regardless of price?

FWIW, up until this point between the laptops and desktops that I currently, have, I have a majority Samsung EVO 860 & EVO 870 SATA III drives with one Intel 180GB drive that I currently do not know which drive it is. With that in mind, I honestly cannot tell the difference between the drives speed, it takes longer to go through the BIOS startup compared to the actual WIN10Pro startup, but I honestly do not care how long the startup is because one started, the machines will be on for days anyway and at this point my Cu LAN is the bottleneck maxing out @ 100M/B between machines (but as soon as 10GbE switches become reasonable in price I will be moving up).