Not reaching max boost with Ryzen 5 2600X

davide445

Member
May 29, 2016
106
4
81
Having the system in signature I'm working with BricsCAD, 3ds Max and Unigine as game engine, and even on stressed single thread tasks (the majority in CAD and DCC editing) my CPU never go higher than 3.79Ghz.
I just added last day a new case fan, so now I suppose there is enough airflow.
ASUS BIOS setting is on smart mode, in theory pushing more on performance and less on energy saving, OC in Auto, Win power mode is High Performance, latest BIOS version, Ryzen Master in Game mode.
Any way to improve single thread performance.
 
Last edited:

davide445

Member
May 29, 2016
106
4
81
@ehume I doubt AVX2 or AVX-512 will be called for standard operations such as grouping, loading assets, fbx conversion etc. No media encoding or transcoding.

@Hitman928 The BIOS is all on Auto except the memory where I needed to define 3200Mhz for OC. I suppose this is the Auto OC working since Windows Monitor state the base clock is 3.8Ghz.
 

Hitman928

Platinum Member
Apr 15, 2012
2,505
1,639
136
Are you using Ryzen master to watch clocks? If so, what do you see at idle vs full load vs single core load. Also, what are your temps like for each?
 
  • Like
Reactions: davide445

davide445

Member
May 29, 2016
106
4
81
Current profile manual 3.8Ghz fixed
Temp 41.5 idle

Game mode stress test: clock 3.8Ghz, Temp 68

Creator mode stress test: clock 3.8Ghz, Temp 67

CB20 MC: Clock 3.8Ghz, Temp 78

CB20 SC: Clock 3.8Ghz, Temp 54

My CB20 MC its 2793 more in the Ryzen 2600 territory than the expected 3000. Single core R20 seems to be ok at 370.

After another reboot the Ryzen Master Control mode returned to Manual without I touched anything. The BIOS is imposing a different control than Ryzen Master Creator Mode (the last one I set)?

There is this hard limit at 3.8Ghz I didn't know where it comes from.

Also seems from hwinfo the RAM is at 1600Mhz, even if I set it on ASUS BIOS at 3200Mhz.
 
Last edited:

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,243
7,893
136
OK, you manually OC'ed it to 3.8 ghz. Why are you expecting anything but 3.8 ghz at any time ? I don't see the issue.
 

davide445

Member
May 29, 2016
106
4
81
I didn't manually OC anything. BIOS is in Auto OC, I never set anything in Manual in Ryzen Master. I didn't know why at reboot is shows Manual when I set a Creator Mode where Auto is defined.
I can only suppose the BIOS is claiming priority control and for some reason set the clock to 3.8Ghz. Not an expert at all anyway, just thinking about.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,243
7,893
136
I didn't manually OC anything. BIOS is in Auto OC, I never set anything in Manual in Ryzen Master. I didn't know why at reboot is shows Manual when I set a Creator Mode where Auto is defined.
I can only suppose the BIOS is claiming priority control and for some reason set the clock to 3.8Ghz. Not an expert at all anyway, just thinking about.
My comment is based on this "Current profile manual 3.8Ghz fixed "

Whether you manually did it, or the bios did it, regardless, thats the issue.
 
  • Like
Reactions: davide445

davide445

Member
May 29, 2016
106
4
81
Tested multiple times setting Creator Mode in Ryzen Master, reboot and again the profile returned to be Manual at 3.8Ghz.
Tried to disable Auto OC in BIOS, seems with no success. The CPU is fixed at 3.8Ghz and seems to stay around this clock both at 5% load or 99% load.
Any suggestion how I can deal with this cross compatibility issue btw ASUS BIOS and Ryzen Master.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,243
7,893
136
G into bios. Select "set to default" and reboot. First check the speed. They open Ryzen master. Both creator mode and gaming mode at NOT the default settings.
 

davide445

Member
May 29, 2016
106
4
81
Discovered there is a newer (10 days ago) BIOS version available on ASUS website not catched from automated BIOS update tool.
Installed and with all on Auto the system show a base clock of 3.6Ghz (finally!), Ryzen Master show correctly the profile in Auto, the CPU work near 4 Ghz on light load.
Another benefit: I didn't need to reboot for changing btw Creators and Game mode anymore! At least, Ryzen Master says the mode is succesfully applied after hitting the "Apply" button, when before a reboot was triggered in doing so and the "success" message came only after the reboot.

CB20 multithread show it working at 3.825Ghz and 81°C, single thread is working btw 3.975 and 4.025Ghz at 57°C (but curiously all threads are loaded so I suppose the Game mode can improve a bit the speed avoiding overhead).
CB20 ST score goes up from 370 to 402 (405 in Game Mode), where MT improved from 2705 to 2824.
So not the fastest silicon, but much better.

Still, never hit the theoretical 4.2 Ghz max.
 
Last edited:

Thunder 57

Golden Member
Aug 19, 2007
1,404
1,178
136
Discovered there is a newer (10 days ago) BIOS version available on ASUS website not catched from automated BIOS update tool.
Installed and with all on Auto the system show a base clock of 3.6Ghz (finally!), Ryzen Master show correctly the profile in Auto, the CPU work near 4 Ghz on light load.
Another benefit: I didn't need to reboot for changing btw Creators and Game mode anymore! At least, Ryzen Master says the mode is succesfully applied after hitting the "Apply" button, when before a reboot was triggered in doing so and the "success" message came only after the reboot.

CB20 multithread show it working at 3.825Ghz and 81°C, single thread is working btw 3.975 and 4.025Ghz at 57°C (but curiously all threads are loaded so I suppose the Game mode can improve a bit the speed avoiding overhead).
CB20 ST score goes up from 370 to 402 (405 in Game Mode), where MT improved from 2705 to 2824.
So not the fastest silicon, but much better.

Still, never hit the theoretical 4.2 Ghz max.
You may be thermally limited. I have no problem hitting 4.25GHz or about 4.00-4.05GHz under all core full load, with nothing more than a basic Hyper T4.
 

Thunder 57

Golden Member
Aug 19, 2007
1,404
1,178
136
@Thunder 57 you never used the stock cooler? And what was the max reached clock?
I did for maybe two or three days. My temperatures got pretty high under all core load so I went to check/reapply the arctic silver I had used and had enough trouble getting the stock one back on that I put the Hyper T4 on there.

Pretty sure it hit 4.25GHz on one core but all core was certainly lower, 3.9GHz at best IIRC, maybe even 3.85GHz. It's great that they give you a decent cooler as a freebie, but for $20-30 you can do a good bit better. That's generally all Ryzen would need too, as it doesn't OC well.
 
  • Like
Reactions: davide445

davide445

Member
May 29, 2016
106
4
81
Looking at Ryzen Master temp and other parameters seems under control in single thread load
1564646521216.png
But it didn't go up to marginally more than 4Ghz. A new cooler can improve some of this parameters?
What about using a ARCTIC Freezer 34 eSports, Enermax ETS-T50 AXE Silent Edition, or CoolerMaster MasterAir MA410P.
 
Last edited:

davide445

Member
May 29, 2016
106
4
81
Discovered switching to Balanced Power plan (from High Performance) all the cores frequency goes down to 2.2Ghz or less with a single core being pushed up to 4.15Ghz in single thread tasks.
The pushed core is changing rapidly so I suppose some overhead is present, need to play with Game Mode and bench to understand better.
So I suppose this is the way obtaining max performance allowed from my stock cooler.
Let's say the settings to achieve this are: BIOS in Standard and not ASUS Smart mode, Windows power mode in Balanced and not High Performance.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: prtskg

Hitman928

Platinum Member
Apr 15, 2012
2,505
1,639
136
Isn't game mode only supposed to be used for 1st and 2nd gen Threadripper CPUs? Also, your graph is showing all of your cores boosting at the same time (more or less) which would imply you are loading all the cores with work. What is running and what % does Windows say your CPU is being loaded?
 

Iron Woode

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Oct 10, 1999
25,986
3,104
126
So I suppose this is the way obtaining max performance allowed from my stock cooler.
Yes, it is. While the stock cooler is good, it most definitely can be improved. My R3 2200G stock cooler is fine for normal work loads but is not good for continuous heavy loads like gaming.

I will be building a R5 3600 system for workstation and gaming needs and an aftermarket cooler will be mandatory.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DAPUNISHER

davide445

Member
May 29, 2016
106
4
81
With Balanced plan single cores does turbo one at time
1564665936041.png
and the best core peak at 4.2Ghz so I can say is working on specifications.
BUT CB20 Single Core goes down from 405 to 346. Need to repeat the test since appear to me a bit odd.
 

Attachments

ehume

Golden Member
Nov 6, 2009
1,496
67
91
There are much better TIMs than Arctic Silver these days, much easier to handle and much quicker to achieve their full potential.
 

davide445

Member
May 29, 2016
106
4
81
TIM = Thermal Interface Material. AS5 (Arctic Silver 5) is an old TIM. Gelid Extreme and NHT1 (Noctua's first TIM) are also arguably aging. NHT2 and Kryonaut Grizzly are new TIMs.
You mean I can just use a different TIM with the same stock cooler, to anyway improve the thermal management?
 

Hitman928

Platinum Member
Apr 15, 2012
2,505
1,639
136
Yes. It's a little bit of a process though if you've never done it before. Not hard or anything, just need to watch a good tutorial first.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY