Newbie Question: AMD X2, Stock HSF, and Thermal Paste

Tango Charlie

Jan 20, 2006
Hello all, this is a simple question, but it's my first build and I'd rather not mess anything up.

I've just purchased an AMD X2 4200+. The instructions say to apply thermal paste between the heatspreader and the HSF. Except... there's already something on the HSF where it would contact the CPU. Can anyone tell me what this stuff is?
- Is it thermal paste, and I don't need to go get some?
- Is it something that's supposed to contact the thermal paste, so I need to get paste and put them in contact?
- Is it something else, perhaps a protective somethingorother that needs to be cleaned off before smush it onto some paste (which I'll neet to get)?

Thanks in advance for any help, the Anandtech forums have proved invaluable in helping me pick out parts for my system! Kudos to you all!

trexmgd

Jan 22, 2006
If you have the stock HSF (bought the boxed AMD), then the "stuff" you see on the bottom of the HSF is the thermal paste or "pad". You can use it or scrape it off and use your own, which may void the warranty.

PS usually there is a piece of tape over the pad that you remove first.

DetroitSportsFan

Oct 19, 2004
I know you already got your answer .... but some of us will swear by arctic silver. It has produced up to 10 C drops in temp over the stock pad in many cases. My Opteron 165 idles at around 33-34C and never breaks 40 under load with AS-5.

The choice is yours.

ayabe

Diamond Member
Aug 10, 2005
Originally posted by: DetroitSportsFan
I know you already got your answer .... but some of us will swear by arctic silver. It has produced up to 10 C drops in temp over the stock pad in many cases. My Opteron 165 idles at around 33-34C and never breaks 40 under load with AS-5.

The choice is yours.