New to water cooling

imported_angor

Apr 1, 2005
Hey all, I am new to anandtech forms, as well as to water cooling. queston i have is this i am in process of building a new pc, going to water cool this one, i just purchased coolmaster cm stacker case, and it is huge and very sweat:), i plan on oc this new rig once done, dfi nf4 sli dr , will be my mb, processor i havnt decided on yet still waiting to see what happen in next few weeks:), anyway if anyone is familar with this case it has a vent hole on bottom of case appr, 3.5 x 11.79, i want to put either black ice extreme III rad or the extreme II rad in bottom of case, i have room for both granted will need to mod hole for it fit, mont rad on bottom inside, then putting fan shrouds on top of rad then mount fans on shrouds with fans sucking air from bottom, i leaning toword the extreme III rad, what pump would u recomend for either one rad, wil be cooling cpu, mb chip, video card or cards.
any advice would be welcome

HardWarrior

Diamond Member
Jan 26, 2004
You're already on the right track. In general, the bigger the rad\core the better. Especially if you want a quieter rig. Most modern 12v pumps will push coolant around your proposed loop without much problem. If you want to force a higher performance level I'd suggest two pumps, like this, in series. Also, if you vent your rad INTO your case you're going to need to make sure that you're moving enough air through your case to avoid heating your components with the backwash.

imported_angor

Apr 1, 2005