New to F@H

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by T_Yamamoto, Nov 18, 2012.

  1. T_Yamamoto

    T_Yamamoto Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    9
    I am downloading the F@H installer. Once I install it, what should I do?

    Regards
    Takumi
     
  2. Ken g6

    Ken g6 Programming Moderator, Elite Member
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 1999
    Messages:
    12,895
    Likes Received:
    405
    Set your team number to 198. :cool:
    Watch your CPU and GPU temperatures to make sure nothing overheats.

    You'll probably want to set up SMP WUs and GPU work. (What hardware are you running these days anyway?) But I'll have to get reacquainted with that myself this weekend for the upcoming Holiday Season Race.
     
  3. Sheep221

    Sheep221 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,844
    Likes Received:
    25
    You just set up necessary things like amount of threads used, if you want to use only cpu and or gpu, or both and max CPU load, than you just start to receive work units. Distributed computing heavily uses computer resources so if you turn it on all the time, it may impact your performance in games and such. There is also option to fold only when computer is idle.
     
  4. Pokey

    Pokey Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 1999
    Messages:
    2,525
    Likes Received:
    63
    First of all I am assuming Windows. So a little light reading first: http://folding.stanford.edu/English/WinGuide

    There is also help out there for Linux.

    Good Luck and check back; there are others around here who can help.

    :)
     
  5. T_Yamamoto

    T_Yamamoto Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    9
    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2554750

    Also, it says its running but nothing is actually happening.
    An ETA is not showing up, etc
    [​IMG]What should I be doing now?
     
  6. petrusbroder

    petrusbroder Elite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    12,891
    Likes Received:
    248
    Hi and welcome to the TeAm!

    A workunit (WU) has to run for at least 1% before any estimates show up ... sometimes it has to run for 5%.
     
  7. T_Yamamoto

    T_Yamamoto Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    9
    How long does this usually take?
     
  8. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    37,753
    Likes Received:
    1,647
    if you're still rocking the E2140, it might take a while.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, guys, but SMP WUs really require a quad-core CPU, don't they, in order to finish before the deadline? And non-SMP WUs are worth peanuts as far as points go?

    Unless you have a half-decent NV graphics card, I don't know if I would start my DC career with F@H. Something like BOINC and Correlizer or WCG might be better for a dual-core.
     
    #8 VirtualLarry, Nov 18, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2012
  9. T_Yamamoto

    T_Yamamoto Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    9
    :/

    I do have a 9800gt but I can't use it since my PSU does not have a 6pin.

    What would you recommend I do?

    I downloaded BOINC as well.

    Also, if i put my computer to hibernate/standby, will it keep folding?
     
    #9 T_Yamamoto, Nov 18, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2012
  10. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    37,753
    Likes Received:
    1,647
    Well, that would be a problem. I have some spare 9600GSO cards, but again, they require a 6-pin connection.

    Install BOINC 7.0.28 or whatever the newest stable version is. Sign up for World Community Grid, and Correlizer. The TeAm is currently running a race in WCG, so any additional participation is encouraged. WCG WUs generally take one CPU core for each WU, so you can work on two WUs at the same time. It also generally plays nice with the rest of your system, so you can leave it running in the background while you use your computer, which is not so true of F@H.


    For your second question, if you put your computer in hibernate or standby, the CPU will not crunch anything.
     
  11. T_Yamamoto

    T_Yamamoto Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well F@H is working nicely with my computer, since I'm doing general word processing and such.

    Can I run both F@H and BOINC?

    Hopefully I can build a new computer soon, I want to help out!

    edit: I can not connect to WCG BOINC for some reason. I put an exception in my firewall to allow it too

    edit 2: installed F@H to my brothers laptop and its right now folding
     
    #11 T_Yamamoto, Nov 18, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2012
  12. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    37,753
    Likes Received:
    1,647
    Not really advisable. The deadline and WU time calculations will probably get messed up.

    That's the spirit! It gets addicting building computers.

    I have an AMD 2.8Ghz quad-core rig that I would be happy to sell you. I built it two years ago to sell, and it has just been collecting dust.
     
  13. T_Yamamoto

    T_Yamamoto Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    9
    Alrighty

    VL, I see that you have a nice little quadcore 775 chip, is that collecting dust? You know I could put it to good use :)

    Maybe once I get through high school and college I could start building some real crunchers
     
  14. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    37,753
    Likes Received:
    1,647
    I could let my NIB Q6600 go for $100, if it was used for crunching. I paid $210 for it, but it keeps getting worth less and less, I guess.

    Just wait till you have to pay your own electric bill for your crunchers!

    TBH, you should probably get your parent's permission to crunch while living at home, because of the additional electricity costs. (though they won't be much additional, C2D chips already have high idle power costs)

    Edit: If you have a Microcenter near you, they are clearancing out their 2500K CPUs, which can OC fairly easily to 4.5Ghz or so with a good air cooler, for $100 ea. Get a cheap Z68 board (Hot Deals thread.), and go to town. That would crunch F@H pretty well.
     
    #14 VirtualLarry, Nov 18, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2012
  15. T_Yamamoto

    T_Yamamoto Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    9
    I live in North Carolina :(
    I have the money for new parts, but not the grades apparently.
    Also I won't have my computer on 24/7, only when I'm home (which I usually do)

    With the money right now (550ish) I could build a i5 build easy, and I may acquire my friends x4 build sooner or later (x4, 4gb ram, 5770)

    Also VL, the problem is, newer and greater tech is coming out that is more efficient and just as fast (or close) at a lower cost :/ AND its on a dead platform D:
     
    #15 T_Yamamoto, Nov 18, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2012
  16. T_Yamamoto

    T_Yamamoto Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13,864
    Likes Received:
    9
    also is it normal not to feel any lag.
    Im playing CSS and i have no lag.