New gaming laptop incoming

SHIROI RAKUEN

Feb 18, 2013
I will get a gaming laptop in a couple of weeks hopefully & would like to know before that, all the tweaks that I should prob make to it before I play any games. Anything u can think of really would be appreciated. I am still a newbie when it comes to tweaks & important updates.

Btw, the OS will be windows 8, and the GPU will be a radeon 7970M dedicated(discrete), so yeah, pls talk to me about stuff like 1rst boot BIOS, drivers, windows 8 tweaks, general gaming performance tweaks, etc... maybe even some more advanced stuff also... anything u can remember :p

Thx

Eureka

Diamond Member
Sep 6, 2005
If it's not made by a custom company, reinstall the OS as soon as you get it and install latest drivers from manufacturers. Gaming tweaks will depend on games.

Will it have a SSD? You should look into adding one if you don't have one.

Sleepingforest

Platinum Member
Nov 18, 2012
Hm... don't get AMD just for Enduro. Nvidia's Optimus drivers are more mature and polished, as well as working better.

The very first thing you should do is disable touchpad edge-based gestures--their annoying and not really very useful. You can type right into the Metro screen to search, much like the old Start button.

SHIROI RAKUEN

Feb 18, 2013
If it's not made by a custom company, reinstall the OS as soon as you get it and install latest drivers from manufacturers. Gaming tweaks will depend on games.

Will it have a SSD? You should look into adding one if you don't have one.

It will have SSD.

It will be made by Schenker XMG. Why would I want to reinstall the OS?

SHIROI RAKUEN

Feb 18, 2013
Just called them. Bad news... They only have one model that does not support enduro but it's not the one I want. So, now I have the choice between :

alienware without enduro but for 1724€ or a Schenker with a 64GB SSD & for 1454€ but with enduro enabled :/ Everything else the same...

So... I'm stuck... -_____-

Eureka

Diamond Member