New Domain Controller - Server Install

SpurtSpanker

Feb 19, 2006
First things first, I do this for a living but the way I do it is different than the way I would like to do it now.. here it goes..

Got a small office network that consists of the following..

1 PDC - Nothing fancy. Just hosts all the files and databases. Does not run exchange or anything like that. DHCP is not used.

4 Workstations - All log on to the domain and all have mappings/connections back to the server.

Here are my questions..

I am installing a new server. I usually install servers as a secondary DC so the they can "cook" and transfer/clone all the data and blah blah for windows (accounts, ad etc etc). However, the server was hacked a year ago and it took me a week to clean it up. I don't want to transfer over garbage and want to start clean. What I want to do is this..

1 - Setup new server. Different ip, different name.
2 - Transfer all files and data from old server to new.
3 - Share out all folder shares exactly as they were on the old server.
4 - DCPROMO it to be the PDC.
5 - Setup WINS/DNS
6 - Make sure all is working.

Here is the tricky part and my main concearn!

The workstations will need to be added to the domain. This will in turn create new security credentials for the machine account. ***If I remove a workstation from the old server (same domain as the new server) and add it back into the domain (new server same domain), will the user profiles on the workstations still be the same? I have a feeling they will not. Maybe I am wrong? Will there be any issues for this? Anything I need to know to make it go smoother?

Thanks all!

spyordie007

Diamond Member
May 28, 2001
I'm assuming this is an NT 4 domain.

That said this sounds like an ideal time to migrate to Server 2003 and Active directory; if you do not have experience doing this (which sounds like may be the case) than I suggest hiring a professional to come in and take over with the migration.