New deal! Refurb 24" IPS touchscreen, 1920 x 1200, $153 + s/h

Discussion in 'Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests' started by mechBgon, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. bbhaag

    bbhaag Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3,022
    Likes Received:
    15
    Doesn't surprise me. These monitors are huge and heavy. My Elo had a ship weight of 24 pounds!
    I really like the looks of that Gateway stand but the base looks really small. I looked all over the web and could not find a max weight capacity for it even on Gateways website.

    If you want man I can take a couple pics of the monoprice stand and post them up.
     
  2. bassoprofundo

    bassoprofundo Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 1999
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure! Would be much-appreciated!
     
  3. bbhaag

    bbhaag Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3,022
    Likes Received:
    15
    Alright give me a few minutes. I'll edit this post with some pics. Anything special you want to see? Mounting hardware, placement, color ect? Let me know now.

    EDIT:Here ya go. Image quality isn't the best and neither are the angles but I hope it gives you a better idea of what you purchased. Desk is 4' long by 2' wide and yes I know I need to dust. haha:p

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    #78 bbhaag, Nov 16, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2012
  4. bassoprofundo

    bassoprofundo Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 1999
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    A shot showing the mount to the back and something that shows the proportions of the base compared to the panel itself would be great. No rush, though... Whenever/if you get to it... I suppose I'll see it in person when the monoprice stand arrives later this week.
     
  5. Zap

    Zap Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    22,378
    Likes Received:
    1
    Crap! I was hoping to use an old NEC stand. I actually had one (telescoping, tilt, round base that rotates) that I purchased used off someone I know for around $20 a while back. Been sitting in my garage. Looked at it today and it looked like it would work, except I needed some screws. There were screws on my monitor but the flat washers caused them to not fit the stand, and I was unable to remove the washers (they are in an unthreaded spot on the screw).

    I might buy some new screws anyways, and try it out. Might be worth the $1 gamble.

    Oh yeah, so I got my monitor today. Didn't try the touchscreen part, but the picture was indeed very, very nice! Looks like a perfect panel with no obvious flaws.
     
  6. bassoprofundo

    bassoprofundo Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 1999
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome! Thanks for the pics. The base is big, but it looks plenty flat enough as not to make the space under the panel (my current place for stashing important "to-do" papers) totally useless.
     
  7. chanfo

    chanfo Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 1999
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got the monitor today. Condition was mint. No dead pixels that I can tell. Maybe a little blurriness on the bottom left corner but with the start button there cannot really tell. The touch doesn't seem really responsive, might be a setting there but I did go thru the calibration. I don't see much usefulness there for me so I'm thinking I will probably remove the touch panel once the excitement dies down. The model number is actually the 2490WUXi instead of the newer 2490WUXi2. From all the reviews I've read the older model is actually preferable because it has the A-TW polarizing filter which was removed on the newer model. It does look a little glossy to me especially when the sun is shinning on it. You can actually tell there is a thickness to the glass. To access the advanced menu: power off monitor from front button. While holding the input button, press the front power button. Does anybody now how to obtain the hours usage of the monitor. I looked at the advanced menu and couldn't find it. It could be in the service menu but I do not have instructions on how to get to it.

    Now for the gateway mount, I would have preferred it to be a little bigger, especially the base. It is fairly stable and not in any danger of tilting over. There is quite a bit of wobble when you are touching the screen. I would not use this stand if you intend to use the monitor as a touch screen. I had to adjust the vertical springs to the maximum setting (there is a screw adjustment for this) or else the vertical height adjustment would bottom out due to the weight of the monitor. This thing weights twice as heavy as the 24" soyo lcd it is replacing. The strength of the springs is barely able to hold the weight of the monitor so when moving it up or down, I have to do it slowly or else it would bottom out. It works, just wished the springs were stronger. There is also a spring adjustment screw to set the ease of tilting. That one was okay. The stand does not go high enough to enable the monitor to pivot.

    I have some photos of the stand and monitor. How do you attach images to a posting?

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    #82 chanfo, Nov 17, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2012
  8. bbhaag

    bbhaag Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3,022
    Likes Received:
    15
    You'll need to upload the pics to a site like imgur or photobucket then copy and paste the url tags into the reply box here on AT.
     
  9. Zap

    Zap Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    22,378
    Likes Received:
    1
    Huh, I'll have to see if the springs on my stand are adjustable. I paid $1.18+tax for some screws and have it attached, and yes it stays bottomed out. Pretty cool that I can do portrait, however.
     
  10. DeviousTrap

    DeviousTrap Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anybody else's noticeably yellow in the middle of the screen? :(

    When on a blank white page, the left 1/3 of my screen is a bright white color. But then going towards the center, the back-light turns into a bit of a warm yellow. Anybody have any experiences with Geeks.com's return policy? It's a shame too as the monitor really does look good, but the yellow hue is going to bother me every time I open a webpage.
     
  11. ivwshane

    ivwshane Lifer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2000
    Messages:
    17,111
    Likes Received:
    446
    Check the monitor settings there should be something called uniformity that may help.


    I'm curious, how many hours of use does everyone have? I believe mine says 14000 hours. Also mine is a version 2 so no tw filter.

    Who else got a version 1?
     
  12. bbhaag

    bbhaag Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3,022
    Likes Received:
    15
    How did you see how many hours are logged on your monitor? What program did you use to get that info?
     
  13. ivwshane

    ivwshane Lifer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2000
    Messages:
    17,111
    Likes Received:
    446
    While in the advanced menu mode, go to the "E" tab and press up and left at the same time.
     
  14. bbhaag

    bbhaag Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3,022
    Likes Received:
    15
    My monitor doesn't have that option...:( bummer
    I guess you got the NEC one not the Samsung one huh...
     
  15. ivwshane

    ivwshane Lifer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2000
    Messages:
    17,111
    Likes Received:
    446
    Yeah, I got the NEC. Your monitor might still have the option, what's the model number?

    Try this:

     
    #90 ivwshane, Nov 20, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2012
  16. bassoprofundo

    bassoprofundo Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 1999
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, has anyone been able to get all of the Win8 touch gestures to work on these? I don't seem to have pinch-to-zoom, two-finger tap, or swipe down from the top.
     
  17. bbhaag

    bbhaag Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3,022
    Likes Received:
    15
    These are not multi touch monitors. Only single. I don't think the gestures will work on Win8 without a muti touch input monitor. Atleast the Elo/samsung from the original deal is that way.
     
  18. bassoprofundo

    bassoprofundo Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 1999
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bummer... I think you're right. The "One World Touch" website has separate sections for "Desktop Touch Monitors" and "Multi Touch Monitors," and these fall into the former. Still cool to have and a heck of a screen for the price.
     
  19. ivwshane

    ivwshane Lifer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2000
    Messages:
    17,111
    Likes Received:
    446
    Doh! I thought they were. That just makes the decision to remove the touchscreen that much more compelling.
     
  20. bassoprofundo

    bassoprofundo Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 1999
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone else running two of these in multimonitor? I've noticed that no matter how I calibrate the touchscreens, the touch registers only on the primary monitor. I've done the multimonitor setup through the tool they give, selected which touchscreen goes with which monitor, and calibrated each with the tools but no luck. It still registers the touch as being on the primary monitor, even if I have a non-touchscreen set to the primary.
     
  21. ivwshane

    ivwshane Lifer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2000
    Messages:
    17,111
    Likes Received:
    446
    I'm trying to remove the touchscreen right now. I see the glass, do I just need to pry it up? What tool works best? And does anyone have any tips?
     
  22. ivwshane

    ivwshane Lifer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2000
    Messages:
    17,111
    Likes Received:
    446
    Never mind I got it:D

    I used a putty knife to cut through the double sided padded tape. After that I was able to peel the adhesive off pretty easily although it did leave some sticky residue.

    I'll be honest though, it does seem a little sharper but not by a lot but the glare has been reduced by a lot!
     
  23. chanfo

    chanfo Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 1999
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Were you able to save the touchpanel? I'm still undecided on whether to remove or not. However if the panel can be put back in I wouldn't mind giving it a try.
     
  24. ivwshane

    ivwshane Lifer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2000
    Messages:
    17,111
    Likes Received:
    446
    I believe so. The cable was undamaged and I left the touch screen controller attached to the monitor (it would be easy to remove though).

    I'd image that if I wanted to use the touchscreen again I would have remove the rest of the foam adhesive from the touchscreen glass and add a new strip. The putty knife worked well for not breaking the glass or damaging any other components.
     
  25. ArJuN

    ArJuN Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone here want to get rid of their touchscreen panel (for a price obviously)? I'm looking for something to play around with before investing in a multi touch monitor.