New computer no vid

jtcann

Junior Member
Aug 26, 2004
4
0
0
I put together a new computer for my self using the anandtech entry level guide as well a guide and i put my self together a machine with the

Asus a7n8x-x NFORCE2
athlon xp batron 2600/333.
radeon 9200se 64mb ddr
80 gig hdd
liteon dvd/cdrw
256 crucial

I put it all together and when i start it the lites go on and the drive get power and the fans are all spinning fine but nothing comes up on the screen. the light on my trinitron is orange and the input light flashes between hd15 and bnc which i assume its getting nothing sent to it.

Does anyone see a problem with this? WHat should i do?

Thanks
 

neovan

Diamond Member
Mar 8, 2001
4,676
1
81
do you hear any beeps when you boot up? make sure you reseat the video card and ram. once, i didn't put my video card on securely and couldn't figure why i couldn't get any video signal and ended taking apart the whole thing, until i realize it was just the video card. :eek:
 

jtcann

Junior Member
Aug 26, 2004
4
0
0
ydwi heard no beeps when i started. i tried reseating almost everything. :( i'm going to try to get another video card in to try it out.
 

neovan

Diamond Member
Mar 8, 2001
4,676
1
81
if you don't hear any beeps, you might have fried the mobo. unplug the power cord from the psu and use the cmos jumper to clear the settings. plug everything back and try to boot up.
 

mechBgon

Super Moderator<br>Elite Member
Oct 31, 1999
30,699
1
0
What brand and model of power supply, what speed of Crucial RAM, and what brand of hard drive? You mounted the motherboard on standoffs, correct? Heatsink is oriented the correct direction? (see third &amp; fourth photos)
 

jtcann

Junior Member
Aug 26, 2004
4
0
0
To answer the questions some of you have,

I did not install it on standoffs. Would this cause damage to the mobo. I didnt even realize it.

The Crucial Ram i have is DDR PC2700 ? CL=2.5 ? Unbuffered ? Non-parity ? DDR333 ? 2.5V ? 32Meg x 64

When i turn it on the green light on the lights up

ever mtp-301 is the brand and model of the power supply.

 

AyashiKaibutsu

Diamond Member
Jan 24, 2004
9,306
3
81
I'm pretty sure theres a ton of stuff that isn't suposed to be grounded to the case on the back of a mobo...
 

jtcann

Junior Member
Aug 26, 2004
4
0
0
Well the case holes for the mobo are raised already so when you put the standoffs it is too high and wont line up with the ports in the back. I am going to see what i can do to return the mobo because i think that is the problem.
 

mechBgon

Super Moderator<br>Elite Member
Oct 31, 1999
30,699
1
0
Originally posted by: jtcann
Well the case holes for the mobo are raised already so when you put the standoffs it is too high and wont line up with the ports in the back. I am going to see what i can do to return the mobo because i think that is the problem.
Core concept: the motherboard must not be flat on its back on a metal surface. If your case has some of its standoffs pre-formed into the motherboard tray, like this one, then you would add thread-in standoffs for those positions that still need them (like the brass one in that photo).
 

stevty2889

Diamond Member
Dec 13, 2003
7,032
0
76
And try setting it up outside of the case on a non-conductive surface, use a screw driver or something to touch the 2 pins together where the power switch from the case connects to the motherboard to turn it on. If it starts up fine, then it was shorting to the case.