Need Photography Advice

amol

Lifer
Jul 8, 2001
I'm a photographer for my school's yearbook and looking at last year's sports section, I've decided that I want to make the sports pictures look a lot better.

I have a Canon Digital Rebel XT and I want to know what lenses are best for sports photography (especially from the sidelines, or at night, or both).

Also, what techniques/tips do you guys recommend for sports photography? I'm talking pretty much every sport (football, bball, soccer, golf, swim/water polo, baseball, etc.)

fuzzybabybunny

Moderator<br>Digital & Video Cameras
Jan 2, 2006
What it boils down to is a big, bright (~f/2.8), expensive ($700+), and fast-focusing (USM, HSM) telephoto. It doesn't hurt either to have a body that has higher fps and better focusing speed and accuracy than the XT. The 1D series of cameras are designed for this stuff.

What type of telephoto depends on where you can shoot from, how the lighting conditions are, and how close you want to get to the action. You could make do with a 70-200mm f/2.8 (Sigma or Canon) and put on some 1.4x or 2x teleconverters when you need the extra reach. Or spend a lot and get the 100-400mm.

As for techniques, I dunno. Sports isn't really my thing.

John P

Platinum Member
Oct 9, 1999
As fuzzybabybunny (why'd you make me type that?) says, your best budget bet is the Sigma 70-200 with a 1.4TC. I've got the Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 EX APO IF HSM on my old 300D and it does a fine job. Pick up the 50mm f1.8 for indoor sports.

Go here, read lots:

Fred Miranda Photography Forum - Sports Corner

JulesMaximus

No Lifer
Jul 3, 2003
Originally posted by: Amol
I'm a photographer for my school's yearbook and looking at last year's sports section, I've decided that I want to make the sports pictures look a lot better.

I have a Canon Digital Rebel XT and I want to know what lenses are best for sports photography (especially from the sidelines, or at night, or both).