need help to troubleshoot my own htpc problem, video card is resetting

wirednuts

Diamond Member
Jan 26, 2007
this problem has been ongoing for over a year. ill try to keep it short, with only pertinent info. ive been playing with computers for fun for almost 20 years, and im just stumped.

started when i built it. its an i3 h55 chipset system, and i know i caused the problem when i first turned it on. i did not have the power connector on my 8800gt. the motherboard (or whatever it was), made a high pitched squeal, that stayed on constantly. i turned it on and off like that about 4 times before i finally realized i forgot the video card power connector. i plug that in, and it finally booted and worked.

but the video adapter would reset randomly. usually only when i was doing 3d stuff, or windows media center, but it was pretty random. sometimes it freezes and the computer wont come back, it needs to be restarted. thing was, most of the time the adapter would just reset, it would recover and i could go on playing my games at max levels and they ran for hours just fine. at this point i did try full formats and re installs of windows as a cheap fix, but that didnt help.

eventually i got tired of the daily resets, so i bought a 4870 for it, thinking i ruined the old video card. no luck, the amd card did the exact same behaviors.

the new amd card would work a little better though, not as many freezes and resets so i lived with the problem for a long time, thinking the whole motherboard (asrock) had to be replaced.

just this weekend, i replaced that with an asus p7 h55 pro. it seemed to work GREAT at first. i even played one of my games that would never work for about 20 min. but guess what? it froze and the problem is back again. the video adapter freezes and resets constantly again. its happening on the desktop too, it does not appear to be an overheating problem at all.