Need Advice on Overclocking 5820k

Xerin7

Feb 2, 2007
I'm fairly new to overclocking and could use some advice. Just built my 5820k rig with an Asus X99-A board. I used the 5-Way Optimization feature to overclock my cpu, which landed at 4.609. I've tried a couple of games and everything has been solid. Ran 3D Mark and my pc crashed due to cpu overheating.

Should I scale back the overclock due to this? If it runs fine in my games and only crashes on a stress test like 3D Mark is that ok or should I be concerned? If I need to reduce the overclock, what would you recommend? Should I just reduce the ratio for my 6 cores from 46 to something lower and keep everything else the same? Currently it is:

BCLK: 100.2
Ratio: 46
CPU Cache Ratio: 30x

CPU Core Voltage
Offset Voltage: .075
OC Voltage: 1.225

FiLeZz

Diamond Member
Jun 16, 2000
3dmark not that stressful compared to other CPU tests.

That for sure is not a stable CPU..

Xerin7

Feb 2, 2007
So given that, how should I change it? Should I just reduce the ratio and if so to what? Do I need to change the voltage or anything else?

BonzaiDuck

Lifer
Jun 30, 2004
The "Auto-overclocking" features are pretty much good for one thing -- in my [humble] opinion: To "give you an idea about how far it will OC easily." At least, that's the way it seemed with my skt-1155 processor. The voltage set by these features is likely to be excessive. Even so, this is a new generation of motherboard and processor.

I pretty much "knew" the safe voltage limit for my SB-K: it had the same lithography as the i7 Nehalem in its last release. I might have been able to "guess" the upper limit of a "safe range" for Ivy Bridge, or I thought I saw folks discussing a level around 1.30V. I couldn't be sure about Haswell, and my guess -- you can only extrapolate based on the lithography of 22nm.