My monitor has a brown hue, anyway to fix?

Arsinek

Feb 9, 2010
So I'm a graphic designer and recently have needed to start doing work at home. I've always known about this problem but it never really bothered me because I only used my home PC for typical home PC stuff but that has changed now.

I have 2 monitors, my main monitor, which is the one with the problem, is a 24 inch Samsung SyncMaster T240 and my other monitor is some old Dell flat screen thats like a 19 inch I bought for $50.

The entire picture on my main monitor has a brownish hue, it looks like crap. And my $50 dollar old Dell monitor looks much more accurate, no brown.

Any ideas whats going on here?

One thing I did which may have messed up my monitor was use Samsungs monitor calibration software that came with the monitor. I want to say when I first got the monitor it didnt have this problem until I used that software.

ViRGE

Elite Member, Moderator Emeritus
Oct 9, 1999
If you've been playing with calibration software then that could definitely be a culprit. Delete your custom profiles and go back to stock (sRGB if it's available) and see what happens.

KingFatty

Diamond Member
Dec 29, 2010
I have the same display but didn't use the software.

My question is what did the software actually do to change the display?

Can you press the buttons on the display to bring up the little control menu, and browse through the various settings and let us know what they are (like contrast, red, green, blue, brightness, etc.)?

Maybe it's just a matter to changing your settings back to good ones, which are accessed by pressing the physical buttons on the display. There is even a "reset" options in the display menu, if you want to try that to start.

Worst-case is your backlight is dying and so dim that the monitor is technically broken.

GlacierFreeze

Golden Member
May 23, 2005