My i7 7700k Has Arrived - Insights, Benchies & Overclocks Inside (Now With Delid!)

Page 13 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Feb 14, 2005
10,272
8
126
Say,could someone of you who have the cpu be bothered to try some overclocking with two cores disabled to give us some idea of what the i3-7350k might be able to achieve?
I'm not sure it will provide you with any meaningful insight in this regard.

I've noticed core 4 is the weakest on mine when testing, but I have hit a hard ceiling at 5.1ghz, so the only thing I could glean from this is potentially a slight drop in volts if only running on the 2 best cores.
 

BIPOLARCAT

Junior Member
Jan 6, 2017
3
0
6
Yeah, but does F20 at least let you set to higher values? Mine simply won't. It tells me to go pound sand if I try to push memory or CPU multipliers up any further than stock.
So I got a 7700k on my Gigabyte Z170XP-SLI with F20. Good news... everything works. I can crank up the multiplier to 50 if I want to, and the XMP profile for my 2x16GB 3200Mhz DDR4 RAM works without a hitch. I haven't seriously looked at OCing yet but that's soon. Good to see that overclocking kaby lake is viable on even the budget Z170 boards.

What would you guys recommend as a starting point? I was thinking of just cranking the multiplier to 50 and giving the chip 1.375v with LLC set to high, see if it can handle prime 95 v27.9 overnight with those settings, what do you guys think?
 
Dec 22, 2016
37
0
16
So I got a 7700k on my Gigabyte Z170XP-SLI with F20. Good news... everything works. I can crank up the multiplier to 50 if I want to, and the XMP profile for my 2x16GB 3200Mhz DDR4 RAM works without a hitch. I haven't seriously looked at OCing yet but that's soon. Good to see that overclocking kaby lake is viable on even the budget Z170 boards.

What would you guys recommend as a starting point? I was thinking of just cranking the multiplier to 50 and giving the chip 1.375v with LLC set to high, see if it can handle prime 95 v27.9 overnight with those settings, what do you guys think?
so far im at 4.9 ghz with 1.265 in bios and can run loops of h264 with 60 to65 degrees celsius, im gonna try prime later on, i havent delided yet because i havent receive my liquid metal and rockit tool yet, chips looks good so far

im using an asus hero 8 z170
 

crashtech

Diamond Member
Jan 4, 2013
8,770
42
126
Say,could someone of you who have the cpu be bothered to try some overclocking with two cores disabled to give us some idea of what the i3-7350k might be able to achieve?
I'll be getting one when they are available, but I want to run it in a Z170 board. I've been reading about that limiting KBL OC, but maybe it will be different with only two cores.
 

Byte

Platinum Member
Mar 8, 2000
2,875
0
81
WOW 5.0GHz sounds real yummy. I went through 8 samples of 6700k and non would go past 4.6GHz stable, and I delidded them so the temps were really low. Really want to drop in a 7700 on my asrock z170 7 at home, and the Ivy Bridge at work is showing its age, even at 4.5GHz.
 

thesmokingman

Platinum Member
May 6, 2010
2,073
1
91
WOW 5.0GHz sounds real yummy. I went through 8 samples of 6700k and non would go past 4.6GHz stable, and I delidded them so the temps were really low. Really want to drop in a 7700 on my asrock z170 7 at home, and the Ivy Bridge at work is showing its age, even at 4.5GHz.
Contrast this with my single off the shelf 6700k. It clocks to 4.8ghz at under 1.4v with memory at 3733mhz Prime Blend stable. It's a gem after reliddig too. You might want to test a different board as that is likely holding you back if you had to go thru 8 chips. That's a lot of chips to not get any higher than 4.6 and in fact I find those odds almost unlikely. My chip isn't that great either to be honest, as I've seen others hit 4.8ghz with less volts than I needed.
 

Dave2150

Senior member
Jan 20, 2015
554
2
91
WOW 5.0GHz sounds real yummy. I went through 8 samples of 6700k and non would go past 4.6GHz stable, and I delidded them so the temps were really low. Really want to drop in a 7700 on my asrock z170 7 at home, and the Ivy Bridge at work is showing its age, even at 4.5GHz.
This sounds like user error. There are several retailers selling (non binned) overclocked Skylake CPU's at 4.6Ghz, that they don't even have to test before shipping, as literally every 6700k can do 4.6Ghz without question.
 
Dec 22, 2016
37
0
16
So I got a 7700k on my Gigabyte Z170XP-SLI with F20. Good news... everything works. I can crank up the multiplier to 50 if I want to, and the XMP profile for my 2x16GB 3200Mhz DDR4 RAM works without a hitch. I haven't seriously looked at OCing yet but that's soon. Good to see that overclocking kaby lake is viable on even the budget Z170 boards.

What would you guys recommend as a starting point? I was thinking of just cranking the multiplier to 50 and giving the chip 1.375v with LLC set to high, see if it can handle prime 95 v27.9 overnight with those settings, what do you guys think?
i wouldnt start with 1.375 and i start below 5 ghz to see how your chips does, you should see how it goes at 4.8 4.9 ghz with lowest voltage possible, i had to increase my voltage of 0.05 from 4.8 to 4.9 everychips are different but to start at 5ghz with 1.375 is not the good way to do it, and you better have good cooling if you plan to prime overnight without a delid with this voltage at 5ghz
 

FlanK3r

Senior member
Sep 15, 2009
296
6
91
Without delid


5300 MHz Superpi 32M


And PC system:



7350K and 7700K retail on the way :)
 

Dave2150

Senior member
Jan 20, 2015
554
2
91
I think Kabylake would have been much more exciting if the increased clock speeds translated into increased gaming performance. From the benchmarks I've seen so far, there is no practical difference between a 6700k@ 4.6Ghz to a 7700K@5.0 Ghz in games. It seems games just can't take advantage of clock speed past a certain point.
 

FlanK3r

Senior member
Sep 15, 2009
296
6
91
It could be right. Better is try to OC DRAm and cache for some games. Its interesting improvement there...
 
Mar 10, 2004
28,259
176
126
Maybe the rest of the system can't feed the CPU enough work?
 

TheELF

Platinum Member
Dec 22, 2012
2,665
61
106
It seems games just can't take advantage of clock speed past a certain point.
You also need enough GPU power to see the difference specially at ultra settings.
Not to mention that the scripted in-build benchmarks use less cpu power then actually playing the game, both these points make almost all benches irrelevant.
Sites should really start showing cpu usage with benches.
 
Mar 10, 2006
11,709
102
126
I think Kabylake would have been much more exciting if the increased clock speeds translated into increased gaming performance. From the benchmarks I've seen so far, there is no practical difference between a 6700k@ 4.6Ghz to a 7700K@5.0 Ghz in games. It seems games just can't take advantage of clock speed past a certain point.
(5-4.6)/4.6 = ~8.7% gain.

That's not going to be an earth shattering gain for anybody.
 
Feb 14, 2005
10,272
8
126
Without delid


5300 MHz Superpi 32M


And PC system:



7350K and 7700K retail on the way :)
Nice.

The good thing about the Hero is you don't have all the stupid plastic armour over the motherboard like with the Code/Formula, which is a nightmare when trying to place the screws over the motherboard holes when screwing into the standoffs.
 
Jun 30, 2004
13,502
102
126
(5-4.6)/4.6 = ~8.7% gain.

That's not going to be an earth shattering gain for anybody.
Relevant to some but not all: If you have a needed dual-boot configuration with Win7 and Win10, Kaby Lake is only "supported" in Win 10.
 
Jun 30, 2004
13,502
102
126
Whoa, that's not cool.
Well, that's what I read somewhere recently. If you abso-tively posi-lutely have to have Win 7 running on a socket-1151 system, it is something to consider for the 9% potential increase in performance.

It wouldn't matter if you're all happy and goo-gah about Win 10. Nothing wrong with that. I just have to spend time over the next couple days configuring Win 10 for my storage strategy defined under both OSes. I tend to take refuge in Windows 7, and there's the "media center thing" -- ya see . . . .
 

nadrojcote

Junior Member
Jan 10, 2017
1
0
1
So I got a 7700k on my Gigabyte Z170XP-SLI with F20. Good news... everything works. I can crank up the multiplier to 50 if I want to, and the XMP profile for my 2x16GB 3200Mhz DDR4 RAM works without a hitch. I haven't seriously looked at OCing yet but that's soon. Good to see that overclocking kaby lake is viable on even the budget Z170 boards.

What would you guys recommend as a starting point? I was thinking of just cranking the multiplier to 50 and giving the chip 1.375v with LLC set to high, see if it can handle prime 95 v27.9 overnight with those settings, what do you guys think?
I have the same board and 7600k on the way. Looking forward to pushing it farther than my 6600k.
 
Dec 18, 2016
29
0
46
Relevant to some but not all: If you have a needed dual-boot configuration with Win7 and Win10, Kaby Lake is only "supported" in Win 10.
Win 7 is no problem with kaby lake, driver etc still works.

 


ASK THE COMMUNITY