Question Mucked-up reinstalling OSX on MacBook Pro

tcsenter

Lifer
Sep 7, 2001
Apple flunky, here (yes, I'm a PC guy) with little experience in Macs. Neighbor's MacBook Pro (2012-ish Intel Core) had a defective memory module according to Apple store techs, who talked them into buying a new MacBook instead of fixing it. So he came to me about replacing (and upgrading) the RAM, which I did. I have quite a spare parts collection and already had some DDR3 SODIMMs here. Everything was working great, then he asked if I could erase/reset the current user/owner account so they can give it to a younger sibling who is in school (which I've never done before on Mac). It definitely NOT stolen, BTW. I tried to follow an online guide to reset everything back to factory settings for selling/transferring to another person, but in my late-night intoxicated status, apparently did something wrong. I think I erased the wrong partition/volume?

003.JPG

It won't boot to OS X 10.7 Lion (I presume because I erased it), but still boots into recovery mode when pressing Command + R. When I boot using Command + R, while connected to internet with LAN cable or Wifi, a screen appears "Starting Internet Recovery" with a progress indicator, and appears to be downloading the recovery/install bits. Then Mac Utilities loads giving the options; Restore from Time Machine Backup (there are none available), Reinstall OS X, Get Help Online, and Disk Utility. I select Reinstall OS X. OS X installation screen appears asking the typical install prompts, accept the license agreement, select which drive to install to (there is only one choice). But after a few minutes it errors out with "Cannot download additional components needed to install Mac OS X" and returns me to Mac Utilities.

Now what? I appreciate any help.

TheStu

Moderator<br>Mobile Devices & Gadgets
Sep 15, 2004