• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

Question mixing ram with different voltage

Damia

Junior Member
Mar 9, 2021
8
1
11
Hi,
I have a old pc runs on ddr3 ram. Originally i hae installed a 1600 mhz gaming ram on it. However the motherboard only supportes 1333mhz. Today i have buy another ram with same speed but its having different voltage. The old one runs 1600 mhz@1.65 v. The new one runs 1600 mhz@1.5v .have i get any problems when install these two at once ?
 

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
52,243
7,060
126
Well, if your mobo only supports DDR3-1333 (JEDEC setting), it's probably @ 1.50V at that setting, so assuming that's true, then you should be able to pop in both additional sticks, and not worry TOO much. If it works, it works.
 

Damia

Junior Member
Mar 9, 2021
8
1
11
Well, if your mobo only supports DDR3-1333 (JEDEC setting), it's probably @ 1.50V at that setting, so assuming that's true, then you should be able to pop in both additional sticks, and not worry TOO much. If it works, it works.
Is that motherboard shows the current ram voltage?
 

Damia

Junior Member
Mar 9, 2021
8
1
11
I have installed and it wont boot with both rams.. both is ok as installed in single. Dont know what happens . The ram modules are different in sizes too..the new one is just half of the height of older one(1.65v one).
 

Furious_Styles

Senior member
Jan 17, 2019
409
139
86
It sometimes works but typically mismatched memory sticks is a bad idea. I've had instability due to it in the past. It even seemed like it worked fine but every once in a while I'd get a BSOD for memory related reasons.
 

Shmee

Memory and Storage, Graphics Cards
Super Moderator
Sep 13, 2008
5,413
1,032
126
Yeah depending on motherboard, it may be more picky about RAM compatibility, especially when using different voltages. What are the system specs?
 

Damia

Junior Member
Mar 9, 2021
8
1
11
Yeah depending on motherboard, it may be more picky about RAM compatibility, especially when using different voltages. What are the system specs?
Its old one. Asua h61 motherboard with i3 2120. No graphic card attached.
 

Shmee

Memory and Storage, Graphics Cards
Super Moderator
Sep 13, 2008
5,413
1,032
126
Ok, going forward, for that I would try to stick with 1.5V DDR3 anyway, as 1.65V was fine with the 1st gen architecture, but with Sandy Bridge (2nd gen) and newer, Intel recommends 1.5V (or sometimes less) for the RAM voltage. Luckily, 1.5V DDR3 is pretty cheap, so I would stick with that. Try to get a similar kit too, if you are going to mix. You can always look on Ebay or other places for cheap used DDR3.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Damia

ASK THE COMMUNITY