MatLab for Data Crunching!!!!

enwar3

Golden Member
Jun 26, 2005
Just thought I would ask here as well.. forgot we had a programming forum.

So..... I have two HUGE excel files with rows of numbers and text. One is complete and one is incomplete, and I have to find the errors in the incomplete file and fill them in with corresponding data from the complete file. Now, I'm totally new to programming, and I'm slowly trudging my way through MatLab. I'm told MatLab can perform this type of repetitive data crunching. And I would much rather spend my time learning MatLab, which could be helpful in the future, than going through and crunching data by hand.

Anyways, my question was whether or not MatLab would be the best program for this. One problem I've already run into is that MatLab isn't all that flexible with text, and my files are composed of both numbers and text. Any other methods you would like to propose?

nod218

Nov 18, 2003
Matlab might not be a good choice. There are 2 functions i can think off on the top of my head in matlab, csvread and importdata. Unfortunately csvread cannot be applied to text data, and importadata will not accomplish the job alone. It's better to use java.

Ken g6

Programming Moderator, Elite Member
Dec 11, 1999
If both files contain the same rows, you don't even need anything besides Excel. Just put both sheets in the same workbook, write a formula "=IF([value_from_incomplete]="",[value_from_complete],[value_from_incomplete])", and fill it down an empty column of the incomplete sheet.

Even if the files contain different data, you might be able to do something replacing [value_from_complete] with a vlookup of the complete sheet.

enwar3

Golden Member
Jun 26, 2005