Man plays out Civ II game for 10 years ... Sid Meier comments!

MH2007

Jun 26, 2007
Man plays out a continuous game of Civ II for 10 years (to 3991 A.D.), posts about it on Reddit

http://www.reddit.com/r/gaming/comments/uxpil/ive_been_playing_the_same_game_of_civilization_ii

I've been playing the same game of Civ II for 10 years. Though long outdated, I grew fascinated with this particular game because by the time Civ III was released, I was already well into the distant future. I then thought that it might be interesting to see just how far into the future I could get and see what the ramifications would be. Naturally I play other games and have a life, but I often return to this game when I'm not doing anything and carry on. The results are as follows.

• The world is a hellish nightmare of suffering and devastation.
  • There are 3 remaining super nations in the year 3991 A.D, each competing for the scant resources left on the planet after dozens of nuclear wars have rendered vast swaths of the world uninhabitable wastelands.
It continues on (ice caps melting over 20 times due to repeated nuclear attacks, 90% of the worlds population dying out, continuous war lasting over 1000 years) and has about 200 comments so far!

In this article on CNN Sid Meier comments!

http://www.cnn.com/2012/06/18/tech/gaming-gadgets/civilization-ii-ten-years/index.html

"Civilization" franchise creator Sid Meier said developers never even thought about someone taking a "Civ" game this far into the future.

"There's no way we could have tested for this, so it was a surprise to us," Meier said. "I can't say that we ever thought anyone would play a game of 'Civ' for that long. It's exciting that a fan of the series would dedicate 10 years to playing one continuous game."

Wyndru

Diamond Member
Apr 9, 2009
That's pretty cool. It's great that he documented it.

I have some SimCity4 regions that I've been playing for 6 or 7 years...Will Wright are you reading this? :D

CPA

Elite Member