MacBook Pro 6,1 - HD failure/command line question

wheresmybacon

Diamond Member
Sep 10, 2004
My wife's Macbook Pro died. I have a question for the Mac Gurus, but first a quick rundown of what I've done. Briefly: I'm a sysadmin by trade, I just want to make sure I'm not missing something before I throw in the towel with this data recovery operation. She has a ton of irreplaceable photos on this drive, and of course she's not been doing backups. :(

What I've done:

Pressed Apple-S on boot, ran fsck -fy. Failed. Returns "disk0s2: I/O error".
Booted with Snow Leopard install DVD, ran Disk Utility repair. Failed. Tells me to backup my data and reformat.
Pulled the drive and, with a SATA to USB adapter, attached it to my Win 7 box which has MacDrive. Initially it sees the drive and that it's an HFS file system, but then when I try to access the drive, both explorer.exe and MacDrive lock and must be manually killed. I've also tried HFS Explorer with the same result.

The one ray of hope is I can see the folder structure from the command line. I can navigate it up and down and I can see everything in there. Now I just need to get it. My question:

TLDR version:

Is there a way to mount an external USB drive from the Apple-S command prompt? I just want to mount the drive and copy off whatever's still accessible.

TheStu

Moderator<br>Mobile Devices & Gadgets
Sep 15, 2004
IF you have a spare SATA drive, you could install OS X to the spare drive, and then hook up the bad drive externally.

I am not aware of a way to mount the drive in the command prompt that you are talking about, but I don't mess around with it much.

wheresmybacon

Diamond Member
Sep 10, 2004
IF you have a spare SATA drive, you could install OS X to the spare drive, and then hook up the bad drive externally.

I am not aware of a way to mount the drive in the command prompt that you are talking about, but I don't mess around with it much.