Local government chain of command?

jbob

Nov 15, 2001
Are there any County Government workers out there? I have a few concerns I need to find answers for. I have been working for our local court house for a couple of months now. I am in this position "temporarily" because their normal IT guy is on active duty in Iraq. I went into this knowing I may be out of a job when he comes back (this has been estimated at Nov 05). Fine, I can handle having Government work on my resume, even if it is for a year or so. It started off well, a few servers, several departments to support, Citrix rollout, no problem. The one problem is the Board of Supervisors approved Citrix for everyone. I am now finding out that the department heads have the power to veto the use of Citrix in their departments. IT has NO say in what goes where, who gets what, etc. This is very disturbing to me strictly as a taxpayer, to know that elected officials have more say in what technology gets used than IT. Right now, none of the departments will play nice with each other. One department wants to look into document imaging, storing the docs on the server. This would work well for all departments. We could have one server store all the docs, seperated by folders with appropriate access and all would be good. Everyone else seems to think since the docs are on the same server that everyone would be able to view everyone elses docs. I've also got other departments that refuse to have a my documents redirect to the server for backup. The claim is "It's not secure". I feel like punching stupid people right now. After all the ranting, I'm wondering who has final say in a situation like this? The Board of Supervisors, Department Heads, Elected Officials? Are there any government sites I can look at that may have the info I'm looking for?

Thanks.

FoBoT

No Lifer
Apr 30, 2001
fobot.com
these issues are widespread in business and not isolated to "government"