llano overdose

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by Soulkeeper, Dec 29, 2012.

  1. Soulkeeper

    Soulkeeper Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    I delidded all those 3870's and overclocked them (cept 1 which I broke)

    seems they all overclock nearly exactly the same

    3.3GHz 800MHz nb is the most common
    one did 720 for the nb, but would do 3.4GHz core
    also I noticed the default voltage for the newest one is 1.4v instead of 1.4125
    and they stopped putting the foam square under the cpu in the packaging
     
    #1 Soulkeeper, Dec 29, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2012
  2. ShadowVVL

    ShadowVVL Senior member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    0
    someone loves llano :p

    lol photo reminds me of the setup in my old appartment with the box spring and mattress on the floor.

    Any plans on getting trinity? or is there no delidding trinity?
     
  3. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,665
    Likes Received:
    81
    that sounds like it could be dangerous to the pins during rough shipping.
     
  4. Centauri

    Centauri Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    I doubt the CPU weighs enough to bend pins by bouncing around.
     
  5. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you notice any pre vs. post delidding improvements? Cooler temps, higher OC's, lower power usage, etc? Just curious what kind of dividends you reaped from your efforts.

    My FX-8350 cpu came in basically the same type of cpu retaining clear plastic clamshell as my Intel 2600k and 3770k. Pins were fine, the cpu is really well immobilized by the package.

    In handling the FX-8350 I had no cause for concern that the pins might get damaged. AMD knows what it is doing.
     
  6. Soulkeeper

    Soulkeeper Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    I only noticed a few C lower temps, no higher overclocks.
    I was read thru this and am starting to think the motherboard (or possibly any fm1 board) is just not up to the task over high overclocks. I can't help but also consider there might be a flaw in the whole fm1 design, possibly part of the reason they jumped to fm2 so fast.
    I had to put scotch tape over the SMDs because there is maybe 1mm of space between them and the heatsink after removing the IHS, could possibly contact and short if the heatsink is heavy or pushed on.

    I also noticed that the capacitors have different colors from llano to llano, as if they individually choose them. Also the default voltage for CPU/NB varies and is lower in the newest ones (1.4v core vs. 1.4125v).
     
    #6 Soulkeeper, Dec 29, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2012
  7. Soulkeeper

    Soulkeeper Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    No plans to get trinity, my next system will support ecc memory, more than 4 cores, and more than 4MB of cache. I'm hoping I can hold out for steam roller or even ddr4 just to see what AMD's next platform does. If I had to do it all over again i'd have gone socket 1155 or am3+.
     
  8. Soulkeeper

    Soulkeeper Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    I purchased another fm1 motherboard off the discount rack at the local fry's (my 4th fm1 board). The GA-A75M-UD2H died on me after a week of instability and problems booting it stopped seeing hard drives.

    F1A75-V Pro
    6+2 vrm likely the board I should have gotten in the first place.
    It supports the samsung 30nm mem (GA-A75M-UD2H did not).
    Amazing throttling ability for low power use, stable as a brick.
    The only downside is the northbridge freq is locked so it's about 5% slower than the gigabyte board at the same clocks/settings.
    Also it appears asus automatically sets the nb div by mem speed as per the following table I worked out. So with my chip only able to do about 800MHz nb that limits me to the lowest mem speed of 1064.
    Chart of FM1 clocks
    Almost certainly mapping 6.0 to 4.0 and advancing in lockstep.

    Also the sata stops working at 133bclk, like all the other fm1 boards, (the asmedia chip likely works, but I didn't try it). So just like the other 3 fm1 boards 133bclk is a pipe dream.

    This should tide me over untill haswell or further :)
     
    #8 Soulkeeper, Jan 24, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2013
  9. sm625

    sm625 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    22
    So you delidded 5 cpu's, broke one, then posted a picture of the boxes. Tell me what sense is there in any of this? Why risk 20% damages? Instead of buying 5 and breaking one, why not just buy 4 intel and not mess with them?
     
  10. Haserath

    Haserath Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    0
    And you call yourself an 'enthusiast'.:whiste:
     
  11. Soulkeeper

    Soulkeeper Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Chances are i'd delid the intels too ...
    the ivy bridges lack SMD caps under the IHS so it'd be easier.
    It's not fun unless I push the limits.
     
  12. sm625

    sm625 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    22
    Well.... I might shake my head at this whole endeavor but I still want to see pics. It was the pics of nothing but boxes that made me :confused:
     
  13. Shellls

    Shellls Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it your MOBO was the problem. My early production 3850 got 3.5 ghz on stock voltage on my A75m-UD2H.
     
  14. Phynaz

    Phynaz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    8,943
    Likes Received:
    86
    Dude, chill.
     
  15. frozentundra123456

    frozentundra123456 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,078
    Likes Received:
    43
    You have a point I guess, but to me there are 2 kinds of 'enthusiasts". One insists on tinkering and trying to get the most out of a lower performing part, and the one who just want to buy the best part to begin with. The first would be fun, but I am not very mechanically inclined, so it does not appeal to me. I would still consider myself an enthusiast though, simply because I am very interested in PC performance and gaming, and read everything I can lay my hands on about the topic.
     
  16. Centauri

    Centauri Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe the term which would apply to a nerd who's scared of tinkering is Armchair Enthusiast.
     
  17. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are we so plentiful in numbers for our demographic that we have the luxury of further segmenting ourselves into denigrating sub-categories?

    This stuff makes no sense to me, and not trying to pick on you. We see it all the time with the epeen quips for people who like to buy expensive hardware too.

    To what end? What possible purpose is served in belittling or labeling our fellow enthusiasts with unflattering terms?

    Our demographic is diverse, true, and none of us are going to identify ourselves with each and every aspect of the genre. But that is cause to celebrate how far (and accepted) our genre has come, not a reason to point and laugh at the people we might feel are the fringe elements of it.
     
  18. Jen

    Jen Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1999
    Messages:
    24,151
    Likes Received:
    1
    my fm1 asus mini itx board would do 133 fsb as long as sata mode was set to ide . i think max was 137 fsb before things got strange so i just used it at 133 fsb


    Jen
     
  19. spartan805

    spartan805 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trying to get into LLANO, i just picked up an A6-3650
     
  20. Soulkeeper

    Soulkeeper Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    3.5GHz 1.391v - stable
    3.6GHz 1.391v - unstable
    3.6GHz 1.404v - unstable
    3.6GHz 1.416v - stable

    actual volts is -0.009 from what's set, not worth changing the vrm freq when I can just lift the voltage .0125
    1.4125v is the max/default according to AMD, so this is excellent.

    I got 3.6GHz stable :)
    good motherboard/vrm makes all the difference as I had suspected
    Maybe i'll try for more later.
     
  21. ctsoth

    ctsoth Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is an excellent overclock at that voltage. I've gone up to 1.6v in the past and my 3870k will not run stable at 3.6.

    I have f1-a75pro/csm. I don't know what the 'csm' bit stands for.
     
  22. Soulkeeper

    Soulkeeper Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    csm are office oriented, they underclock the memory controller 1 step for stability
    identical otherwise
    "Corporate Stable Model"

    F1A75-M Pro is 4+2 vrm
    Just like others, with that many phases or less, this seems to keep the quad llanos capped around 3.3-3.5GHz
    Also I noticed a feature in the asus bios for cpu/nb "current capability", from what I gather there is a hard wall related to the over current protection and this must be raised or system will just not manage higher clocks.
     
    #22 Soulkeeper, Jan 29, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2013
Loading...